We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villino di Porporano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villino di Porporano to your Saves list
Villino di Porporano
Bodrio Street 26, 43123 Parma, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 62 Parma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Warm and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed during an unseasonably cold and wet late March period. The villa was very comfortable and warm and cosy. This is a very good bed and breakfast as a base for exploring Parma and the local region. Freshly cooked eggs and local cakes were lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villinodiporporano, Proprietario at Villino di Porporano, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to write your beautiful review.
I'm very happy that you like our b&b and we wait for you for a sunny holiday!
Best Regards,
Elena Maria Ciotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
168
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

In Parma we stayed at Villino di Porporano, owned and managed by the charming and helpful Elena Ciotti. This delightfully furnished B & B is about 10 minutes’ drive out of the centre of Parma. The main reason why we chose the accommodation is because Elena has an in depth knowledge of Italian Food traditions. Together with her restaurant trained cook Paula they treated me to a wonderful cookery demonstration on pastas with sauces and a wide variety of pizzas with delicious toppings. What a privilege to be taught Italian cooking in a working kitchen manned by two real Italian mammas. I was able to taste all the raw ingredients and finished dishes. I retired to my room late that afternoon with a plateful of delectable tasters and a glass of good red wine. Foodie heaven! The recipes were neatly printed and presented to me with a lovely complimentary chef’s apron.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villinodiporporano, Proprietario at Villino di Porporano, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Ina,
thank you so much for your beautifull review, for your enthusiasm and your kindness!!!
It was a real pleasure to meet you and your son.
A warm greeting,
Elena Maria Ciotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I hesitate to write this review because i feel i wish to keep this gem hidden from the rest of the world. However, i must do justice to Elena. VIllino Di Porporano is a special property and has been restored with exceptional attention to detail and with impeccable taste. I am an extensive traveller and quite particular in what I look for in holiday accommodation. Staying at Villino di Porporano is like being invited into a friend's country retreat. Elena provides great personal service in a manner that somehow manages to fuse that offered by a top concierge with a dear friend whose taste you trust implicitly.

As someone who enjoys cooking, I am deeply envious of Elena's amazing kitchen with all it's modern equipment but country feel. From here, the most amazing cakes, buns and other breakfast delicacies are produced.

At times during the stay, We reluctantly left the property to explore the environs. Reluctance only because we at the same time felt content to sit and enjoy this delightful retreat / home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villinodiporporano, Proprietario at Villino di Porporano, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear John,
I'm sorry if I answer only now to your review but I wanted to tell you that it was a real pleasure to have you and your son as our guests at Villino di Porporano.
We wait for you and your family in your "new home" in Parma for another gastronomic holiday!!!
With Best Regards,
Elena Maria Ciotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For us, the Villino did not quite live up to the expectations created by other reviews. The house is superb. The attention to detail in the interior design is second to none. Our bedroom was elegant with a charming ensuite, a beautiful haven to return to. The Villino's position, however, was not what we hoped for, essentially a nondescript suburb of Parma.

Sadly, Elena seemed a bit distracted while we were there, with her mind on other things. We walked to the restaurant she recommended. but it was closed. Disappointing, and clearly a different experience from that of other reviewers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villinodiporporano, Proprietario at Villino di Porporano, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor!
I'm very glad that you liked our b&b, but at the same time I'm so sorry that I couldn't take care of you as I usually do with my guests!
Unfortunately during your stay I was a little apprehensive about a nephew who wanted to born prematurely.......
If there will be another opportunity for you to return to Parma, give me a second chance....I promise that I'll be forgiven!
Best Regards,
Elena Maria Ciotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately only stayed one night as could easily have stayed a week enjoying the beautifully restored buildings in spacious well kept garden. Elena was charming and ever helpful host who produced wonderful breakfast. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena C, Proprietario at Villino di Porporano, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review......
I wait you for a one week stay!!!
Best wishes for Merry Christmas and Happy New Year,
Elena Maria Ciotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Exceptional setting. Exceptional accommodations. Exceptional personal service. Everything was...exceptional. During our three-day stay, owner Elena directed us to sites to see and places to dine in Parma as well as surrounding towns. She arranged an amazing tour fpr us, guided by Nick an erudite (and funny) Englishman, covering parmesan cheese-making, prosciutto-curing, and balsamic tradizionale- creating. The tour was fun and instructive–happily, it included a delicious hill town luncheon in an ancient taverna. Elena also introduced us to two neighborhood trattorias where we were treated like old friends instead of passersby (we got hearty handshakes and hugs when departing). In the meantime, Elena oversaw fine breakfasts in the dining area, attended to our laundry, and, after we left, even-Fed-Exed a left-behind Kindle power cord to our final destination in Florence. What more can we say? The beauty of the place, the quiet evenings after fast-moving days, the beautiful rooms, the attention to detail, the three dogs: everything was...exceptional. We would return in a heartbeat to the domain of exceptional Elena.

Room Tip: The upstairs attic room with beams is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This review is shamefully overdue, but I just had to share how much we loved our stay here. My husband and I stayed at this beautiful B&B for three nights this past April after visiting Venice and on our way to Lucca. The B&B is located driving distance to Parma center, on an ordinary residential street, and is not really walking distance to anything at all, so it is not a good choice for those traveling without a car. That said, the B&B is a destination in and of itself and well worth the trip to experience the beauty that the innkeeper, Elena, and her family have created. The hotel and its rooms are all lovely and so unique. The dramatic floor to ceiling stone wall creates a rustic and impressive first impression of the Inn. Breakfast was delicious and fresh each morning and Elena even created an out of this world multi-course Italian meal for us on our third night there. This was an experience in and of itself. Elena is a wonderful cook and gracious host, as are all the people who work for her, and she is full of great restaurant recommendations that do not disappoint. We are foodies and we came to Parma because the Emilia Romagna region of Italy is know for its amazing cuisine (Elena, we were the hungry ones!), and we loved every bite. Elena also arranged a wonderful not to be missed private tour of a Parmiggiano Reggiano cheese farm that included a light lunch, as well as a stop at a Proscuitto factory and balsamic vinegar distillery. What we loved most about our stay, though, was being exposed to Italian culture in a way that you can't in large hotels. We loved chatting with Elena, her husband, and the lovely people she has working with her at the Villino di Porporano. We practiced our Italian, they practiced their English and we took home memories that remind us why we love traveling so much. This unique inn is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villino di Porporano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villino di Porporano

Address: Bodrio Street 26, 43123 Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few kilometres from the centre of Parma, in the small, homely village of Porporano, a young couple devised and organised this place of delightful rest. Next to the main villa, in the garden grounds, springs an old rural cottage, built in solid stone brick with a hayloft above. This simple country site has been transformed into a charming cottage for guests; 5 rooms with en suite bathroom, communal area, a large kitchen, spacious veranda protected by glass which separates it from the enchanting green. Keeping the atmosphere of times gone by with its rough walls spaced out with blocks of pebble stone in place of bricks and the dimension of the hayloft which still astonishes those who enter; the rooms where the rough wooden floor gives harmony to the colours. The owners have furnished each room carefully and with passion: with iron headboards and delicately embroidered curtains and tapestry in thick linen, once forgotten in an old trunk. The cottage of Porporano, a place where hospitality is not only a profession but a style of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villino di Porporano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villino di Porporano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.