We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location to catch a bus to the Ferrari Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estense

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estense to your Saves list
Hotel Estense
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Berengario 11, 41100 Modena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Modena
Albury, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location to catch a bus to the Ferrari Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The Hotel Estense is perfectly located to catch a bus to the Ferrari Museum as stated in the previous review. There is a huge market held twice a week( I think) which is right next to the Hotel.
Breakfast was very good and our meal in the restaurant attached to the hotel was first rate, we are still talking about the gnocchi!
Modena is a lovely town and not too touristy. We got there on a Sunday and walked down to the main Piazza where all the local families were spending a relaxing evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    72
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
29
5
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendoza, Argentina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Me and my husband had been in Modena to go to Ferrari Museum. The idea was to be in a a hotel in Modena cause ir near the train station. This hotel has a a perfect location cause is 5 minutes far from train station (8 euros by taxi cab) and the bus station to go to maranello is just behind the hotel!!! There you can pick the bus to maranello (every 1 hour and its 20km far from the museum the bus stop just in front of it). The hotel staff is very kind and give all instructions. We paid 120 per 2 with breakfast included and its fair cause it was the best breakfast ever!!!The hotel is charm, clean and classic and the restaurant connected offer delicious food!
We totally recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Some rooms are very small but if you get one of the good rooms then this is one of the best places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed here purely by default as we were looking for a hotel on a trip thru northern Italy and I hadn't researched any in Modena.... but this was in the Tomtom.... I'd stay again without a doubt.
Its a central hotel, near to the football stadium and market place but also with easy access for the old town. Our room cost 100 euros without breakfast (as we don't normally eat it anyway). Parking included (a rare thing in city hotels and one which can add to the cost a fair bit).
The staff were helpful and the room huge - room number 211..... a masive corner room with high ceilings, and a huge queen sized bed. The bathroom was another massive room with a full sized bath... something the italians don't seem to understand as we were told it only had a shower.
Complimentery slippers were the icing on the cake... simple things eh!!
I'd certainly go back and it was very good value in an expensive country.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

I had a week stay in the hotel during my business trip to Modena. Rooms are quite decent and buffet break-fast is also satisfactory.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room Size could be better
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

Just stayed at the Estense for 3 nights... hotel is clean, rooms are very small, shower enclosing is ridiculously small. Breakfast is very good, but the staff service is awful - I came for breakfast with my laptop (the hotel had signs saying that wireless is available throughout the property but the connection at the rooms is none), and the server demanded me to turn off the laptop! When I asked why, she just went away saying things loud in Italian - maybe cursing me, but as don't speak Italian I calmly finished my breakfast while working on my e-mails. Daily rate = $75.00 euros, so you get what you pay for.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estense

Address: Viale Berengario 11, 41100 Modena, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Modena > Modena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Modena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Estense 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Estense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.