We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Traviata

La Traviata
Via Urbana, 5/c, 40123 Bologna, Italy
+39 051331298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 1,234 restaurants in Bologna
Price range: $37 - $66
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
new york city
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Bologna is known for its amazing food and La Traviata lives up to these expectations. The pasta dishes there were absolutely amazing. We had the pumpkin ravioli and the rabbit lingini. Both were just mouth-watering delicious. The dessert tray at the end was just fabulous. The prices were completely reasonable. Thank you tripadvisor for another wonderful recommendation and helping us avoid a tourist-trap. I will remember this fantastic meal for a while.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    371
    196
    58
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As good as the Opera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wonderful friendly family providing the best of homemade pasta ; the list of different pasta and sauces is a tour de force. Saturday night I ate the roast pork with 'patate al forno' washed down with a very good red wine from Forli.
This is a restaurant that takes pleasure in providing the best of food from this region.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bonissimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I went to this cantina with my family of five after seeing reviews on Tripadvisor. the food was amazing, We eat simple things very well made​​, typical pasta of Bologna. The owners are attentive and helpful. I strongly recommend this cantina.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tortelloni of every type!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Don't come here if you already have what you want to eat set in stone in your mind. Just come here knowing you want good Bolognese cuisine. The waitress, whom I believe is the wife of the owner is spectacular in her service... there is a menu... but just wait... she'll tell you what's best and what's best is not on the menu! Asking your likes and dislikes she'll come up with a creative antipasto, and a primo you won't regret getting. She'll tell you the different kinds of pastas they have and the different sauces and she'll leave it up to you to pair together what you'd like, but she'll also offer a few splendid composed choices that you'll have a hard time deciding between. Tortelloni di zucca con noci e pancetta was superb (squash stuffed tortelloni with walnuts and ham). Also had a delicious raw artichoke salad for an apetizer. Great atmosphere. Good prices. Good wine list! I wouldn't pass it up! (make sure you reserve!!)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not the best Bologna has to offer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I don't want spend too much time dwelling on the negative, stale bread, canned mushrooms all came together in a disappointing dinner experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Traviata also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to La Traviata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Traviata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.