We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the Best Ice Cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of cremeria funivia

cremeria funivia
Piazza Cavour 1/d e Via Porrettana 158/4d, Bologna, Italy
051-6569365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 1,300 Restaurants in Bologna
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bucks UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Definitely the Best Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This has to be the best ice cream ever - the chocolate and coffee varieties are just heavenly.
The shop is spacious and very clean and is located by the side of Piazza Cavour where there is a small park with seats so you can enjoy your ice cream in comfort.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    45
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Icecream in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The ice here is so incredibily good. It's situated near a small park/garden, where you can sit down to eat your icecream. Every gusto I tried was fantastic, especially Pistacchio, Café and Amarenata (cherry with caramelized nuts and chocolate). And the staff is always very nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best gelato I have ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It was heavenly.... the gold standard by which other gelatos should be measured against.
Unusual flavours too amongst the standard gelato flavours.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Could this be the best gelato in the world?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you're in the area... or even in Europe, and you love ice cream, then you'd be a fool not to parachute straight into Bologna with a spoon in your hand, and run immediately to Cremeria Funivia. I've eaten a fair bit of ice cream over the years but have never tasted anything as good as this stuff. We stopped off on the way in to Bologna. It was so good we went back on the way out. The whole place isn't very big, neither do they have a huge selection of flavours but what they do have is incredible. They stock regular favourites, and then have a range that varies from day to day/week to week. I visited with four friends, and between us we had over 15 flavours, all tastier than anything we'd ever eaten before. If this review sounds over the top - go see for yourself how good their gelato is!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Top Gelato in Italia!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have to whole heartedly agree with Kyles and Harmen's review about the holy grail of Gelato. After spending 3 weeks in Italy and eating at over 15 of the best gelato places, this place was the tops. We traveled and ate gelato in Padua, Venice, Florence, Tuscany, Cinque Terre and Parma, which also included the annual week long gelato festival in Florence (we sampled over 10 unique flavors there). We also ate the gelato at a San Gmignano place, which was a world champion in 2011. I searched out the best places by report that had great gelato. The Emelia Cremeria in Parma was a close second. While traveling from Venice to Tuscany and eating lunch in Bologna, we had some time to kill and hunted down the Cremeria Funivia. They poured that milk chocolate into the cone before adding your gelato choices. I can't remember what flavors I had, it didn't matter for any of the 5 of us who ate it there as we all reached Gelato Nirvana. I almost got back in line to order another cone, because it was so creamy and incredible. If you are in Bologna or traveling near it, make the side trip, you will not be sorry...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cremeria funivia also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to cremeria funivia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage cremeria funivia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.