We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and awesome finger foods!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Il Calice

Bar Il Calice
Via Clavature 13/A, 40123 Bologna, Italy
051236523
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Bar Il Calice is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #637 of 1,201 Restaurants in Bologna
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great coffee and awesome finger foods!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Very central to the main square (Duomo) they serve up some great coffee and great finger food. Buy a drink and get the finger foods. They serve some of the freshest oysters outside of a beach town, not to mention all the other finger foods. they have a small place to sit in the back but for the most part people come in and pay for their drink and order it, get there finger food fix... repeat. Very nice and cozy (very small cramped space but worth it). a couple of tall table outside in the street to stand and drink your coffee. This is a no frills kind of place that prides itself in doing a really good job. Always a friendly smile while we were there. This was our second stop there and the service was identical from the last time (four months prior).

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    69
    48
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good aperitivo, if pricey. Sit outside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Il Calice

The receptionist at our hotel in Bologna recommended that we come here for aperitivo. I immediately saw why: the street is gorgeous and lined with great shops, both chains and not, and the ambience is classically Italian.  Sitting outside would seem to be the ideal choice, but on this overcast day we had to sit inside, in the slightly less classy upstairs room. 

The service was acceptable, although not spectacular; the waiter first (reasonably) moved us away from a table that was set for dinner to put us at a table intended for drinks, but then proceeded to clear the silverware and put another couple there just a little bit later. 

The spritzes were good, and the variety of food that came with them was excellent. Being based in Perugia, a much smaller town, it may be that I'm not used to city prices, but €7.50 per aperitivo drink seemed to be a bit steep to me.

Overall a good experience, but I would likely return only if outdoor seating was available.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow UK
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“friendly and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

typical bolognese food, smart service, and very convenient for a midday break while walking around the town. Waiters are friendly, draught beer and wine (large selection by the glass too) good quality. Returned two days running.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We were browsing the area for a place to have drinks and a light meal when we came upon Bar Calice and their outdoor seating area. It seemed like the perfect place to sit outside, people-watch and enjoy the fresh air.

Surprisingly, the service was quite good! Our waitress spoke fantastic English and was very helpful with suggesting wines, dishes and explaining things. We had to get someone's attention a couple of times, but it wasn't a bother...it was very busy while we were there.

The food was fantastic and the portions were great! We loved their Bolognese sauce and their meat plates were huge. The bread was also quite addicting.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france and spain
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Small But Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Bar Calice is situated near the market area of Bologna - where all foodies will go for sure. There is a small bar downstairs at which you will see crowds in the morning, taking their mid-morning coffee and rushing off on their way.

We went for lunch and up the stairs we discovered a small but cosy room. Our waiter spoke perfect English and was so pleasant and helpful. We had lovely fresh oysters from France to start and then my husband had a dish of Eggplant gratinated which was delicious. I was not too hungry and chose a very light plate of toast with shrimps, thinking it would be light and possibly boring. No way.... they had toasted the triangles of bread, drizzled butter on them, then salt and then fresh tiny shrimp topped with lemon juice, so delicious I hope to replicate this simple delight at home. It was a pleasure to also be able to have a glass each of excellent Montepulciano wine, as we don't like to drink a whole bottle at lunch time.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Il Calice also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Bar Il Calice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Il Calice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.