We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab room – Great Price!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Bologna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added UNA Hotel Bologna to your Saves list
UNA Hotel Bologna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pietramellara 41/43, 40121 Bologna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 106 Hotels in Bologna
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fab room – Great Price!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Una Hotel Bologna for 3 nights in Sept. We booked directly with the hotel and paid €110 per night for an executive room with breakfast (I think all room category’s come with breakfast)

The hotel is opposite the central train station which makes it really handy for transport links (The airport shuttle bus also leaves/departs from the station) The Immediate area around the hotel does not look the best however we never felt unsafe and within 10-15 mins walking you can reach Piazza Maggiore.

The hotel offers fantastic value. Our executive room was huge with floor to ceiling windows, large king-size bed (which was really comfy) full bathroom with shower over bath – shower had great pressure and a separate dressing area.

The breakfast was adequate the usual continental fare and some hot food selections served with fantastic fresh coffee.

We walked everywhere in Bologna – which was welcome as the food is so good it was nice to fit some exercise in!!

The staffs in the hotel were friendly and answered all requests. As with all Italian hotels there is no iron in the room so keep this is mind ( As I had forgotten this and trying to iron my clothes with hair straighteners was not very successful…lol)

Overall I would rate this hotel as a decent four star, large bright functional room. Good Breakfast. Handy location – Most sites within a walkable distance. The décor is modern which I like, but may put some people off.

Bologna is a fantastic beautiful city!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the back of the property - As the hotel is located on a busy m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    256
    69
    16
    12
See reviews for
53
182
30
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

In the hotel as I write this review. It is a great place to stay with the superior double being a large room with excellent bathroom,decor and facilities. Location is walking distance to the main train station and a 7 or 8 euro taxi fare from the historic centre. Daily bus tickets cost 1.2 euros if bought from a store eg newsagent or tobacconist.
Breakfast was very good and so good to have bacon and eggs again after a lengthy spell of brioches.
Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We write this comment so that others don't suffer as we did!!! We book a room at Una Hotels on the 12th september for the Una Hotels Bologna from 9th to 11th october; this time of the year is where Lineapelle (a shoe components fair) happens, so Bologna gets really croweded. It happened that the lady who did the reservation made a mistake and booked from 9th to 11th november! On the 27th september we received an email from Una Hotel Bologna, reporting that our reservation was made to november and not to october! After a change of LOT'S of emails proving that the reservation was made for october, they reply that there was no availability for that period and that we didn't send the credit card authorization which is a perfect lie because the document was ALWAYS there in attach! Bottom line: We were going to this fair (as we have a portuguese shoe brand) to work and now we don't have an hotel to stay!!! They never assumed there was a mistake!!! So, please, if you are going to Bologna to Una Hotel don't believe in everything they tell/sell you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, IN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Una Hotel in Bologna, using it as a stopover between Tuscany and Venice.

We chose this location because it was right across from the train station, and our rental car return return location (Hertz) was less than a block away. I'm so glad we found this hotel!

The hotel is about a 10-minute walk from the center of Bologna, which is a very pleasant stroll through the beautiful porticoes.

They did charge for Wi-Fi, which seems odd in this day and age.

We had a fantastic room (Room 607) which was of the Superior room category. After sleeping 4 nights in a old Tuscan villa with 2 pushed-together twin beds to make a King bed, sleeping on a new, proper mattress was heavenly! The room had blissfully cold A/C, lots of electronic gadgets to play with, and a nice little desk area with pocket doors. The soaking tub was one of the deepest I've ever seen.

The breakfast was okay, with typical continental breakfast fare (pastries, scrambled eggs, cheese and meat, etc.)

However, the hotel itself was ultra-modern, with very cool design throughout. What a great choice for a stay in Bologna.

We did have a rental car and the parking garage was accessed through an insanely tight squeeze where you drive between two really narrow columns, through the portico, and down into the garage. Navigating inside the garage is truly a heroic feat. We're lucky we made it out without any damage to our car!

The highlight for us was stumbling upon an amazing restaurant just around the corner from the hotel, which was so good we returned twice. If you're staying at Una, do yourself a treat and walk around the corner to Il Piccolo Gambero.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Loved this hotel, very close to train station. Staff is helpful. Breakfast is included and huge. It's a buffet style breakfast which includes scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, lot's of breads and rolls, fruits, yoghurt, cereals, cold cuts, etc. etc. Rooms are very modern with great views. Wifi is not included but you can ask for 30 minutes or 60 minutes to keep costs down. Rates were very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The positives: awesome location, oposite the train station; great breakfast; comfortable room
The negatives: the only hotel we came across that still charges for wi-fi; understaffed which meant waiting long periods of time for staff to bring wifi codes up to the room.
If it weren't for the wi-fi charges, we'd return to una, however, as business people, free wi-fi is a necessity and therefore means that we would not return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENFIELD
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Brilliantly located close to the railway station, modern, minimalist and stylish hotel. Rooms equipped with every mod con, minibar, generous bathroom, lots of storage and surfaces, curtains that kept the light out, even two chairs. Room quiet despite being on busy street.
Good choice at breakfast, and outdoor sitting/dining area very nice to have. Staff friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault it, especially at the price, except to say that somehow we missed the fact that the restaurant was not open for dinner on Sat/Sun evenings.

Room Tip: Given the layout, I think all the rooms would all overlook quiet courtyards at the back. Higher is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Bologna

Address: Via Pietramellara 41/43, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#25 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the central station, near the historic center and the trade-fair center, the new UNA Hotel Bologna, thanks to its strategic location is the ideal place both for business and leisure. Its 93 rooms, 6 suites and 3 meeting rooms offer design and comfortable facilities equipped with the latest technology. Fine restaurant services and relaxation in the bar with terrace. Indoor garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your UNA Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bologna Una Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Bologna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.