We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover in Bologna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aemilia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aemilia Hotel to your Saves list
Aemilia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanna Zaccherini Alvisi 16, 40138 Bologna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Stopover in Bologna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel in walking distance to the city center. We stayed only 1 night during a stopover and everything was as expected. Clean, nice, new.
The parking does not belong to the hotel,but it is connected to it and you get a special fee if you stay in the Hotel (still not very cheap).

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    454
    69
    6
    0
See reviews for
187
604
65
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the Aemilia Hotel by myself. The hotel was very comfortable, with a very spacious and well-appointed room. Breakfast provided more choices, and more healthy choices, than any other hotel among the 7 or so I visited in my time in Italy.

The only, very minor, problem I had was that the Hotel's sign is not too visible, so I drove right by on my first approach!

Room Tip: I had a room with a view of the old town--worth a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very good hotel, nice clean suite, friendly and helpful staff, varied breakfast, good location near the city center and public transport within 300 meters of the hotel. I can recommend this hotel for a weekend trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Outside the old town but very close to the entrance. Near the university of Bologna. More or less 30 min walking from train station. Good breakfast and good staff. Wonderful sunset in the roof garden. The only problem was the beds.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The rooms look like the photos on the website. Everything is very clean. We had some difficulty with the a/c that I believe was an issue for the entire hotel. The problem was resolved the next day. Breakfast was very nice with good variety. The location is good and we enjoyed the views from the rooftop. We were ungraded to a top floor rom with a view which was very nice. The only real downside was the pillows. They really need a refresh. Ignore the note about the pool. I hit the button and can't delete. There is no pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Arrived at the Aemilia Hotel at 11:30pm after a stressful days travel with the intention of going straight to bed. Reception check in was easy and were told if we would like a drink from the rooftop bar we could go up. We checked out the Premier rooms which were very large and well appointed with great views over the old town before going for our wind down drinks.
I am sorry but am unable to remember the name of the lady behind the bar but she was helpful and efficient and we chatted with our friends for an hour before bedtime.
The breakfast the following morning was served in a large clean and modern restaurant with lots of choice of food in fact we decided to dine in the hotel restaurant that evening and had a wonderful meal,with all four of us choosing something different.
I would like to visit Bologne again and stay at the Aemilia.

Room Tip: A premier room overlooking the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aemiliahotel, Responsabile reception at Aemilia Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for this kind and positive review!

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the nice comments on the staff are a source of pride for us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back here ar Aemilia Hotel!

Best regards.

Riccardo Fiacchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Although I had booked 2 nights due to a flight cancellation I only stayed one night, but I would return to this hotel for a short stay, it ticked all the right boxes. Clean with good decor. Bed was comfortable enough. powerful shower in the good sized bathroom.
Only one criticism was that there was no tea or coffee facility in the rooms. Not sure if the hotel would supply this if asked.

Room Tip: Top floor is handy for the roof terrace and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aemilia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aemilia Hotel

Address: Via Giovanna Zaccherini Alvisi 16, 40138 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bologna
#3 Business Hotel in Bologna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aemilia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aemilia Hotel is situated 200 mt far away from Saint Orsola General Hospital and closed to the historical center of Bologna. It offers many services and facilities for your holiday: free of charge Wi-fi Internet connection in rooms and common areas, roof garden with solarium and Jacuzzi, fitness room, satellite LCD TV, mini bar, and safe deposit box. It is possible to take advantage of a free service shuttle to Saint Orsola General Hospital. It’s also available a guarded parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Aemilia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Bologna
Golden Tulip Bologna
Bologna Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aemilia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.