We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Zamboni 16, 40126 Bologna, Italy (San Vitale)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #49 of 106 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You have to stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the 1st week in July and we cannot rate it highly enough. From the moment we walked in it was a warm welcome and all the staff were the same, happy to see you! Our room was 211 and was quiet and the air con worked, a big plus in heat, as you can imagine!! The hotel could not be better situated for the city, everything was literally on your door step. Bologna itself is a beautiful city, very medieval. You must eat at Tamburini, a fantastic and more than reasonable deli/eatery, 10 euros for an amazing platter of meats and cheeses, best lasagna in Bologna! A restaurant to avoid eating at is,(I cannot remember the name), as you leave the hotel and turn right, it has green shutters, totally got ripped off, food was good but so over priced as was wine and not a patch on Tamburini or other places we ate at. Can't wait to go back and will defo book the San Donato again! Enjoy, Dee and Tam

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    221
    83
    21
    20
See reviews for
53
169
53
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Okrug Gornji, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good , but not enough.... it is situated in the middle of the university center, therefore during the night there is a lot of noise. Very good location, reachable easily by walk from the train station. Distance about 1000 meters. The staff mostly from Sri Lanka , very polite( to polite)

Room Tip: back side room not exposed to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We took a trip to Florence and Bologna. We didn't have a good hotel picked out for Bologna but we did some research and this Best Western was out #1 option. We were lucky they had a room left with our name on it. It was 79 euro the first night and 100 the second. For us, it was a good deal. If you looked online, it was more expensive so glad we took our chances walking in.

The hotel is in the best location. Near the towers, main square and university. Our room had an amazing view but pretty sure they all have views. They have a great happy hour and lots of different balconies and decks to sit and look out on the city. We ate breakfast outside in the morning - happy hour in the afternoon - wine on the top deck at night. All offering great views. The room was nice, clean and the staff was personable and friendly.

We not only would recommend it to travelers but we will stay there if we end up back in Bologna. (By the way, we LOVED Bologna)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in this hotel in June 2013. Great loaction for all sights but area is full of students and along with them and the bells, it is very noisy during day and night. Hotel has ear plugs as part of kit in room !
We had a balcony, but unfortunatly no balconys have tables or chairs.
There are lovely outside spaces to eat breakfast, but it is first come first seved to get a spot outside. My wife and I had an altercatiion with a staff member who told us that there was a reservation for tables, but as we checked with management there is no such system. Apart from that member of staff, all other staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfasts were very good and had a great selection.
There are other outside spaces which for a city hotel is very good. They have a roof terreace with some table and chairs and 6 loungers. It could be utilised a lot more with more loungers and table and chairs. A wasted opportunity I think.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for four nights last week. When looking for hotels online, I was conscious of the noise issues being reported by guests staying at hotels in the centre. This hotel managed to combine a very central location with quiet rooms. Our room was well furnished and had a balcony, which was great to sit out on, although sadly there was no patio furniture to sit on, and we were reduced to using the chairs from the room. There was also a roof terrace with excellent views over the city. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff very attentative. We always like to book centrally positioned hotels when having our city breaks, as it's good to be able to rest and freshen up in the mid-afternoon without having to trek all the way back out of the city.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the back of the hotel may be quieter, but noise didn't seem to be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The place is central, which is great and was exactly what was promised. The decor is a bit ourt of date but you can live with that if the room is clean, which it was. Some points to note:
1. We brought our rental car there and parked in the little lot adjoining which cost about 30 Euro. In my opinion, that was a bit of a rip off.
2. There is a bit of a hitch with the wifi in that if you are logged on and your phone turns off, you are disconnected and then need to log-on. Each device you have has a separate and long alphanumeric password which is not easy to remember. This is not a reason to not stay in the hotel but it is a little annoying.
3. The biggest caveat about this hotel is that the air-conditioning did not cool the room down at all. We were there in early June and it wasn't so hot so it was bearable but I would steer clear of this place in the dig days of summer. We asked for them to look into it and they told me the air was functioning properly. They even offered us another room but the A/C was no different there.
Overall, this place would be fine if the weather is not too hot. If it is warm, you should pick another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I agree with all the positive points made by other Trip Advisor reviewers.
We were lucky enough to stay in room 352 which was a peaceful corner room on the top (3rd) floor. We had a good sized balcony and of course panoramic views of almost half of Bologna including the 2 Towers.
Make sure you read the hotel's information folder as they have the usual extras available, some for free eg. if you need tea and coffee making facilities in your room just phone the front desk.
We are early risers so had no problems choosing a breakfast table to suit our mood. The small outside terrace was our favorite with views of rooftops and part of the Ex Jewish Ghetto. The breakfast staff were helpful without being intrusive and made cappuccinos at no extra charge. The whole feeling was that nothing was too much trouble.

I don't think you could be disappointed with the location or your choice of this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a while you should try for the 3rd floor with a balcony 352 was especially go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato

Address: Via Zamboni 16, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#29 Family Hotel in Bologna
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel housed in 17th century structure, situated near main theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Donato
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.