We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel San Donato, Bologna - excellent hotel right in the city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Zamboni 16, 40126 Bologna, Italy (San Vitale)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hotel San Donato, Bologna - excellent hotel right in the city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for four nights last week. When looking for hotels online, I was conscious of the noise issues being reported by guests staying at hotels in the centre. This hotel managed to combine a very central location with quiet rooms. Our room was well furnished and had a balcony, which was great to sit out on, although sadly there was no patio furniture to sit on, and we were reduced to using the chairs from the room. There was also a roof terrace with excellent views over the city. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff very attentative. We always like to book centrally positioned hotels when having our city breaks, as it's good to be able to rest and freshen up in the mid-afternoon without having to trek all the way back out of the city.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the back of the hotel may be quieter, but noise didn't seem to be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    210
    78
    20
    18
See reviews for
51
160
50
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The place is central, which is great and was exactly what was promised. The decor is a bit ourt of date but you can live with that if the room is clean, which it was. Some points to note:
1. We brought our rental car there and parked in the little lot adjoining which cost about 30 Euro. In my opinion, that was a bit of a rip off.
2. There is a bit of a hitch with the wifi in that if you are logged on and your phone turns off, you are disconnected and then need to log-on. Each device you have has a separate and long alphanumeric password which is not easy to remember. This is not a reason to not stay in the hotel but it is a little annoying.
3. The biggest caveat about this hotel is that the air-conditioning did not cool the room down at all. We were there in early June and it wasn't so hot so it was bearable but I would steer clear of this place in the dig days of summer. We asked for them to look into it and they told me the air was functioning properly. They even offered us another room but the A/C was no different there.
Overall, this place would be fine if the weather is not too hot. If it is warm, you should pick another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I agree with all the positive points made by other Trip Advisor reviewers.
We were lucky enough to stay in room 352 which was a peaceful corner room on the top (3rd) floor. We had a good sized balcony and of course panoramic views of almost half of Bologna including the 2 Towers.
Make sure you read the hotel's information folder as they have the usual extras available, some for free eg. if you need tea and coffee making facilities in your room just phone the front desk.
We are early risers so had no problems choosing a breakfast table to suit our mood. The small outside terrace was our favorite with views of rooftops and part of the Ex Jewish Ghetto. The breakfast staff were helpful without being intrusive and made cappuccinos at no extra charge. The whole feeling was that nothing was too much trouble.

I don't think you could be disappointed with the location or your choice of this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a while you should try for the 3rd floor with a balcony 352 was especially go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Best Western San Donato is located only a few minutes from the "torri degli asinelli". Rooms are good and very clean and staff is very helpful and friendly. If you don't bother furniture being quite old, this is a great value place to stay in the very center of Bologna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
483 reviews 483 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 204 cities Reviews in 204 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

A great balance of amenities, location and price. Free wifi, adequate size room and bathroom. The roof terrace is lovely. The parking is very convenient and well worth the price. The location is good and central to sites and varied restaurants. There was a refrigerator in the room. The only negative comments are about the sagging bed and breakfast was so crowded, there wasn't enough tables.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Typical Best Western standards: clean, adequate facilities. The best possible location, two minutes from the two towers. Very friendly staff, missed a little more soundproofing in rooms. Splendid views from the upper terrace (see picture). Prices vary wildly depending on events (I booked at 95 euros a double with breakfast that would go for 250 euros the following week).

Room Tip: I guess the fourth floor rooms might have a good view (I was on the second, where the breakfast room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Highly recommended hotel if you want to explore Bologna. It is centrally located yet quiet.
Comfortable rooms and excellent staff. We could enjoy a great breakfast or pre-dinner cocktails on the balcony, with the wonderful vista of Bologna as background.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato

Address: Via Zamboni 16, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Bologna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel housed in 17th century structure, situated near main theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Donato
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.