We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected much more..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Zamboni 16, 40126 Bologna, Italy (San Vitale)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #51 of 106 Hotels in Bologna
Rhodes Town, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I expected much more..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The only positive of this hotel is its location in the heart of Bologna (but 20 min walk away from the train station) and the staff who is friendly.
I had visited Best Western in Bergamo and I was very very satisfied so I chose to visit this hotel with enthousiasm.
I was very disappointed though. Very noisy rooms (imagine that earcaps are provided) that need to be renovated. Average breakfast.
The intennet access has function problems, you need to log in again and again.
The outern doors of the room did not lock so I did not feel safe.
We were a group of 6 people and we all had the same opinion. Bad choice..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    221
    83
    21
    20
See reviews for
53
169
53
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent - close to the center of everything - and still quiet. Rooms are quite big and breakfast was very good. The hotel has several terraces where you can enjoy breakfast or just a glass of wine in the afternoon. The hotel also provide free tea/coffe certain hours during the day, which we really liked! We would definitely stay here next time. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Good value for money!

Room Tip: Some rooms had a balcony, we did not. Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Unbelievable location - right in the middle of town and an easy walk to the train station. Unlike the experience of other reviewers here, my room was really big and really quiet, perfect. The breakfast was great, and available for a good 4 hours, always nice. The staff were professional and helpful. I spent every evening on the balcony drinking wine and eating free very yummy nibbles while looking over a bustling and beautiful city centre.

The only complaint is the diabolical internet service as described in detail by another review below - constantly logging you out halfway through something, and some days not working at all. Incredibly frustrating, especially when I was there for business. There is a lack of internet cafes suitable for working in the area, so you are pretty much stuck with the hotel internet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The rooms are nothing to write home about but they have all of the amenities that one would need.

You are brilliantly located close to the heart of Bologna. The location is a good reason to chose the hotel in its own.

Breakfast is a good spread of mediocre products.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We spent 4 days in Bologna at the Hotel San Donato Best Western. The rooms are not very big, but clean. The location is excellent. The hotel has a terrace on th 2 flour (we did the breakfast there) with wiew of the roofs of the city and the towers! The town is living during the whole day and night! Take a red bus city tour! I can recommend to make some excursions to the nearby cities ( Ferrara, Modena, Parma or Padua). The trains (trenitalia) are fast and always in time and runs very often. Easy to buy ticket on the automat ( on English too). Don't forget to try the real "bologenese". It was fantastic 4 days!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel is all about location, which is excellent, near the University (therefore lively) and the twin towers (therefore close to the main city sites. So far, so good. Where the hotel fell down is that it is very noisy (as mentioned by many other reviewers) and finding a set of ear-plugs in the bathroom was not encouraging. Walls are indeed paper thin, and the use of floor tiles instead of carpets magnifies the noise - as we discovered during preparations for departure in a nearby room at 4am.
The other annoying thing about the hotel was the immensly frustrating access to the (admittedly free) WiFi, which requires guests to sign a form, and ask for a separate access code per phone of lap top, and the need to re-log on endlessly as access just shut down time after time for no apparent reason, requiring a new log-on. Anti-terrorist legislation we were told, but this was the only hotel in Italy (with quite a few sampled) that required this annoying procedure.
Apart from that the hotel was quite good, although I am not sure that we will use it again the next time we visit Bologna.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of what you could consider red Bologna (it is surrounded by red buildings). There is parking and it is included in your fee. The breakfast was good, but nothing extraordinary. Heating in the rooms could be improved. Here is the breakdown:

The good: Price and location. You cannot beat either. You are within walking distance of all the nice piazzas and buildings, as well as bars and restaurants. And the price is extraordinary. Additionally the staff went out of their way to help. I was there in 2012 when it was snowing all over Italy and the staff helped us remove the snow from our car.

The bad: It is a little old and needs a renovation. Especially the bathrooms and the heating systems.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend when you don't want to splurge in a hotel. If it is a special weekend go to a nicer hotel, otherwise if you are on a budget like I was it is perfect. Additionally, ask the front desk to help you with dinner reservations, they sent us to an amazing restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato

Address: Via Zamboni 16, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Family Hotel in Bologna
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel housed in 17th century structure, situated near main theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Donato
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.