We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Touring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Touring to your Saves list
Hotel Touring
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via De' Mattuiani 1/2 | Piazza Tribunale, 40124 Bologna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #7 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great hotel, great location. Worth having a gold room which has a balcony
Breakfast included, very helpful staff, lovely roof terrace, 10 minute stroll to main piazza

Only negative was no uk tv channels but some would see that as a bonus!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    293
    50
    13
    8
See reviews for
116
322
84
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Well positioned for a quick walk into the centre of town, this is a great hotel. The rooms are not large but are comfortable. Beds are somewhat hard, but that suits us. Good shower. Very friendly and helpful staff. Suggested things for us to do, phoned to check availability and even told us the appropriate bus number and stops for several attractions.
Good selection at breakfast and if you ask they will make you a delicious cappuccino. Would suggest you book a Gold room, as we did, as we peeked into the standard rooms that have not been ujpgraded yet and they did not look very nice.
We were disappointed with the size of our balcony, however, as there were no chairs, not really room for them though. We travelled with friends and they had a huge covered balcony (room 333) and it was pleasant for the 4 of us to have pre dinner drinks - no view from here though only residential flats. The lift is tiny, not one for the claustrophobic takes 3 people. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a Gold room. Room 333 has a big terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A lovely hotel, with great views (some rooms have balconies), good quality beds, a fantastic rooftop terrace, a quiet location in the old city that it a short walk to the center, and a really good breakfast. Also, the staff was very nice and attentive. When I made our reservation, I had some requests for the type of bed I wanted (firm mattress, king or comparable). After we checked in (several weeks after my correspondence), the person I'd emailed made a point of asking if the bed was ok - which it was. But I was very impressed that they'd remembered and follow-up. It was a level of detail that you don't often find. Really enjoyed our stay.

Also, I see a lot of reviews say the rooms were small. For a hotel in larger European city (which I consider Bologna to be), for the price we paid, the room we had was quite large.

Room Tip: You pay a little more, but if you can afford it, getting a balcony is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a good but not great hotel (would have given it 3.5 if it were possible). Room was comfortable, but not large; a reasonable choice at breakfast, but we've had better in similar quality Italian hotels. The staff are very helpful. Our stay coincided with a big conference and the receptionist couldn't find us a table at a good restaurant on the Saturday night, so they offered us a table in the hotel (I'm not sure they usually have an evening restaurant during the low season) - there was limited choice but the meal and wine was delicious! The other great thing about the hotel is location, just a few mins walk from the main square. Generally, the hotel would be good value for money, but during the conference the rates were very high. We'd recommend a visit to Bologna, particularly if you love Italian food, and the Hotel Touring is a good choice for your stay

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

while they set store by this being a family business, it was very professional. . . really nice welcome, and a lovely entrance though the street was not! . . .the roof terrace was a lovely spot morning and night . . . there was a busy bar/bistro round the corner, but the walk into town was easy and quick. . . nice quality breakfast.

this would have been a 5 star rating if the shower had been easier to achieve the right temperature and if I could have charged phone while out the room, as electricity is linked to key in wall!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We just stayed three nights at Hotel Touring and it was wonderful. The room was small, but modern, clean and had a safe and mini bar. The bed was quite comfortable. We had a gold room with a terrace overlooking the city. There is also a roof terrace with the best views in Bologna. Breakfast was pretty good and was available when we had a very early start one of the days.
It's in a very good location, just an easy ten minute walk to the main sites.
The staff could not have been nicer, especially Matteo. They went out of their way to help with all of our needs.

Room Tip: Get one of the Gold rooms, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Hotel Touring is set within the walls of the city about 10min walk from the main square. Its in a nice neighbourhood with a few bars and restaurants nearby. There is also a coop within 5 min walk.

The hotel room we had was more than sufficient for our 4 night stay. Bathroom was nice the room had flat screen TV and mini bar. The staff at hotel were very helpful. Cant praise them enough.

The hotel has the advantage of a roof top terrace which was nice when having a glass of wine before going out in the evening.

If you are coming by car it can be trick to get to – I recommend sat nav! The other disadvantage to the motorist is parking. The hotel offers off street parking but this is expensive. The other option is buying street parking permits at 9 euro a day.

It can be difficult to find a place to park so leave your luggage at the hotel first.

If I come back I would stay here again

106 was a nice roo with a view of the street.

Room Tip: 106 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Touring

Address: Via De' Mattuiani 1/2 | Piazza Tribunale, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#13 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Touring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Touring is a 3 star hotel in Bologna, situated in a quiet location in the old town a short walk from Piazza Maggiore, the Church of San Domenico. A few steps from the Galleria Cavour, the temple dedicated to international brands and made in Italy, as Gucci, Luis Vuitton, Prada, Cartier, our bed and breakfast remains within walking distance from the main touristic places as Piazza Santo Stefano, Torre degli Asinelli. Garage and Traffic Restriction Pass, WIFI area, Wonderful rooftop terrace, well maintained and green. Among the offers of services during the summer, the charm of our bologna hotel bed and breakfast is completed with the opening of the magnificent Jacuzzi on the 5th floor.A moment of pleasure that will make your stay unique in Bologna, whether from us for businees and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touring Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Touring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.