We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel near town center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savoia Hotel Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Savoia Hotel Country House to your Saves list
Savoia Hotel Country House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Donato, 161, 40127 Bologna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great hotel near town center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week and had an excellent time. The room was extremely clean (bedding and towels were changed daily) and the bed was very comfortable. A gym and a pool are located in the neighboring Savoia hotel (100 m) both also clean and quiet. We greatly appreciated the fact that they lent us bikes for free. Bologna town center is approximately 4 kms from the hotel and we enjoyed riding around this superb town. The service was impeccable!
A fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    76
    24
    10
    3
See reviews for
31
60
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we had an early departure the day after. We had chosen the hotel because of the short distance to the airport. It appeared to be more than that that makes it worth the money. It has clean and fresh rooms with comfortable beds. A gym and pool is located in the neighboring Savoia hotel. The breakfast is better than the general Italian one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The service is terrible. I stayed in July, and I filled out the room survey and it said "bring this to the front desk and you will be given a present" I brought it and they said they won't give it to me in a rude way. Also, their Wi-Fi is super slow, breakfast is bad, and the rooms are nowhere like the picture. And yes, the prices are expensive for any snack or water you want, and the front desk's service is slow and bad.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni T, Direttore at Savoia Hotel Country House, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the observations you sent us regarding services at our hotel.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

We are really very sorry that you should think so. I would like to point out that had you notified me of your complaints during your stay, I would have been able to intervene at once to find the best solution.

We cannot understand your dissatisfaction with our breakfast: it comprises 3 types of home-made cakes, 6 different types of croissants, 5 types of corn flakes, 5 kinds of fruit, grapes, plums, bread, butter, jam, cheese, turkey, ham steak, eggs, rusk bread, 2 types of yoghurt and many other dishes.

I remember of you and I want tell you about our wi-fi connection that everything was ok about it and only your laptop had problems, in that period we didn’t received any other observations about our wi-fi connection.

Regarding the prices of our snacks we have often been praised for the excellent price/quality ratio we offer our guests.
We assure you that, considering the quality and variety of our services, our rates are very low (absolutely fair).

I remember too, that at your arrival we offered to you a lot of different kind of rooms, so I don’t understand which kind of room did you expected you to have.

Regarding our employees, I’m sure that they are always kind and I believe that there was a misunderstanding between you. Our strong point is our service, thanks to the care and attention we reserve for all our guests.

We hope that we have clarified our position.
We are always grateful to our guests for writing to us, even if with some complaint.

Best wishes.

Andrea Angelini
Vice Direttore
Savoia Hotel Country House Bologna
Via San Donato, 159
40127 Bologna
Tel./Fax 051. 6332366
Direzione e coordinamento: Nonsolohotel Srl – Bologna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Lovely hotel, great location for a relaxing break (just off the autostrade and outside the city itself), excellent facilities (you can hire bikes free of charge and visit Bologna rather than going by bus/taxi as it's only 4km) the pool at the adjacent sister hotel is great (though usually has lots of kids in it so not ideal if you're trying to get away from little people....). The food in the hotel restaurant, Garganelli's is AMAZING ! Overall, a bargain for Euro 51 per night for a double room B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main road - although the air conditioning does blur out the traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed at the Savoia Country House Hotel in april 2012 for three nights. It's a two minutes ride from the Bologna fair. The hotel is a little bit antiquated but service was great. The restaurant in it's sister hotel Savoia Regency serves great food. There's nothing much to do around the hotel, but there's a bus a stop at the door that takes you straight to the train station, otherwise it's a 10-12€ taxi ride. Once again it's an interesting option if you are staying in Bologna for the fair.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. Room was clean and ok, nothing fancy but adequate for the price of around 70 Euros. Breakfast was a surprise as usually italian hotels do not excel in choice and quality. Good location for a business trip, just a few minutes from the highway exit. Would not recommend for a tourist experience as there is better choice for a holiday (countryside agriturismo). Very friendly staff that reacts on demand. Free parking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at the Savoia for two nights whilst visiting Misano for Moto GP . Whilst it is on the outskirts of the city it has great transport links to the city centre. We were travelling by motor bike and on arrival saw that there was a super covered area for bikes. The room was beautifully decorated and we slept very well. The breakfast was out of this world, so much choice, the fresh fruit was beautiful as was the coffee. However the highlight of our stay was the meal we had in the restaurant at its sister hotel which shares its grounds. As we were on a bike we did not have any particularly smart clothes with us but as it was torrential rain storms we decided not to travel to far so we turned up in our smartest shorts! This restaurant is really lovely and the service was second to none, we were made to feel like royalty the food was outstanding and it was probably the best meal on our trip. We shall definitely return, we booked with hotels.com and got an amazing deal. Well done Savoia!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoia Hotel Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoia Hotel Country House

Address: Via San Donato, 161, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoia Hotel Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Savoia Hotel Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoia Hotel Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.