We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of the History of Bologna

Museum of the History of Bologna
Via Castiglione 8 | Palazzo Pepoli Antico, 40124 Bologna, Italy
+39 051 19936370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 128 Attractions in Bologna
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The planners of this year old museum have done an superb job of bringing to light Bologna's cultural and historical importance. The information (a lot of it) is well organized and as other reviewers have already mentioned, the English audio and visual representations are very clear. I arrived in Bologna, not knowing much about its history and culture and came away with a great appreciation of them
I also appreciated the museum's layout, and no throngs of tourists to plod through.- so unlike other major Italian cities.
I would only suggest that more seating should be available throughout the museum. With so much to see and absorb, we would have welcomed the chance to rest more often

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    63
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place, need time to explore fully”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a great museum telling the history of Bologna. My 11 year old son was occupied and I was pleasantly surprised. The installations were excellent telling the history of the city. very good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“To know more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A great museum with excellent guides, where you can discover more about Bologna and its famous citizens.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
452 reviews 452 reviews
219 attraction reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
933 helpful votes 933 helpful votes
“Learning Made Easy and Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

TA reviewer, EJSWA of Perth, below does a great job of summing up this museum and I agree with the review. Although in the beginning I was disappointed that the majority of the displays are reproductions, I was quickly won over with the use of the audio guide and wonderful interactive history and its presentation. After intently reading/listening to the first12-15 rooms, I became overwhelmed with all the information, so pace yourself! I breezed through the last several rooms because I just couldn't absorb anymore, but I found it fascinating and highly recommend it. This was my first stop after arriving and then I took the Tourist Board's two hour walking tour and felt I had a very good understanding of Bologna for the rest of my 2 days spent in the city. This also makes for a very good deal-the two hour walking tour costs 13 euros which is included in the Welcome Bologna card along with all the museums you can pack in in 48 hours, including this museum. The audio guide is included in the cost. I also appreciated that no one is trailing you as you move from one room to another they just seem to turn up when you need them. I was completely alone which was great especially in the water room! This is an unexpected gem! Don't miss it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“innovative displays, beautiful building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The rich and long history of Bologna and the surrounding countryside is interestingly displayed in a series of self-guided rooms, beginning with the Etruscans and ending with the city's twentieth-century history and a look at contemporary Bologna.

The one thing I did not like was the Disney-like brief film in which an insufferable cartoon Etruscan runs around road runner style (think "be beep") - some might find this cute, I could not wait for this presentation to end.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the History of Bologna also viewed

 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Museum of the History of Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of the History of Bologna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.