We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great combination of history and modern manufacturing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Ducati

Museo Ducati
Via Cavalieri Ducati, 3, 40132 Bologna, Italy (Borgo Panigale)
39 051 - 6413111
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$327*
and up
Private Tour: Motor Mania Ferrari, Lamborghini...
Ranked #12 of 128 Attractions in Bologna
Type: Factory Tours, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great combination of history and modern manufacturing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

Had a few hours in Bologna so I organised a trip to the Ducati Museum and factory. I'm into bikes but not a Ducati fanatic - maybe I am now! You need to book in advance which I did several weeks before although some others arrived at the gate and got in when some bookings didn't arrive. First up was a look through the factory and it was pretty interesting with modern machinery producing a range of all types of Ducati. Saw every stage of construction and testing.
Next was the museum which focussed mainly on competition bikes and had some very special machinery there, both modern and old.
The guide spoke great English and knew her product very well and was passionate about the brand. She remembered names and nationalities and was very friendly. The radio earphones for the narration was a great idea to ensure everyone could hear.
I caught a taxi from central Bologna which was about €17 each way but there is public transport which should be pretty cheap. The route is not easy to work out for a newbie but is described on the booking website.
I'd recommend the trip for anyone interested in motoring or motorcycling.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    71
    14
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Ducati Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

You dont have to like Ducati Motorcycles to visit the Museo. There is a lot to see with some very interesting displays. Make the effort, it is worth it

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must for the faithful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

The history of this famous marque told in motorcycles, desmo engines and racing bikes. A pilgrimage for me, but interesting for others as well. A factory tour gets you up close and personal with the assembly lines and we were lucky enough to see a finished bike on the dyno. If you are into motorcycles, this is a must.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The beautiful Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We flew from the other side of the world for this tour, having booked it almost 6 months prior and it was well worth it! Very informative, our guide was terrific and could answer all my motorbike loving partners questions. He was in awe. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute and it was great to see Ducati's love of a fellow Australian - Troy Bayliss. Can't recommend this highly enough - if you're a bike lover - put this on your bucket list. We can tick it off ours.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More than I was expecting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Booked my tour over a month prior, I didn't really know what to expect of the factory tour, or the museum for that matter. I was greeted at the gate by Natasha our guide. Group was only small (6 of us). The tour of the factory was amazing, it wasnt a scripted tour and a lot of what you saw depended on what was happening at the time! The museum while small, was very good and had a good mix of history of racing and for me SBK and MotoGP championship winning bikes from Bayliss' and Stoner.
Definitely great value and worth doing if you are traveling through Italy. If you ride a Ducati to the museum, you can even park it inside the gates! No other brands though!
It was also good to chat with some of the employees who all seemed helpful and informative.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Ducati also viewed

 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Museo Ducati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Ducati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.