We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect b&b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Santo Stefano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B Santo Stefano to your Saves list
B&B Santo Stefano
Via S. Stefano 84, 40125 Bologna, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 247 Bologna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geraardsbergen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Every thing was perfect. It felt as we were at home. Breakfast was excellent and mr Giovanni was very kind and very helpful. When we should visit Bologna an other time we should return to B&B Santo Stefano. We stayed there 5 nights and we regretted that we had to return at home!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
69
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

one word.... excellent!!

I only stayed one night but the impression I got was extremely good.

Clean, modern, quiet and comfortable. Puts most hotels to shame at the same price category.

Breakfast was amazing.

My only slight complaint was the wireless internet was unreliable and weak.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I Stayed at B&B Santo Stefano in october for 5 days.

The B&B is just a few minutes walk of the historic center of Bologna.
Also easily to reach by bus. Even on sundays if you want to vistit other towns in Emilia Romagna.

Giovanni welcomed me, showed me the room, gave information about the B&B and what you could do in Bologna. When I went home Giovanni also said personally good-bey.

The information and pictures about the B&B at the own website corresponded with the reality or I couls say: the reality was even better.

My room was spacious with a small ensuite, but very clean bathroom. The towels were changed each day. The room was cleaned every day. The living room/ dining room was comfortable and accessible at all times. The breakfast was delicious. With every morning a great cappuccino and fresh orange juice. All the breads and pastries were fresh even at 7.30 a.m! During the day you could take coffee, tea, fruit, mineral water or fruit juice for free.
The bookcase in the corridor contained an interesting collection of books.

When I will return in the future to Bologna, I would only stay in B&B Santo Stefano

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

stayed with friends for 2 nights in September. Great location, very comfy beds, fantastic bathroom ( we had the room at the back) and generous breakfast. Far preferable to staying in a soulless hotel with no personal touches. Felt like we were staying In a very stylish apartment rather than a B&B. highly recommend. Giovanni also allowed us to cancel one of the rooms for another couple without any charge. it was last minute cancellation so therefore very kind of him.

Room Tip: One at the back for bigger bathroom and it is more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed two nights at Giovanni's fantastic B&B, just a few minutes away from Bologna's historic center. Giovanni was an amazing host. As informative, courteous and helpful as you would expect to find in a first class hotel concierge. He outlined Bologna's major attractions on a city map, called restaurants to make dinner reservations, suggested I visit Il Teatro Anatomico, a truly amazing 15th century University of Bologna medical lecture hall, where Bologna's finest physicians taught anatomy to prospective medical students. A must see.

But the true find here is Giovanni's B&B. Nothing has been left to chance. Each of the three bedrooms is spotless and luxuriously appointed. Comfortable, spacious bed. Desk and seating area. The private bathrooms offer individual bathrobes and slippers, an amenity I did not find in any other B&B or hotel during my travels.

The communal living and breakfast area is decorated in a sleek, ultra modern style offering spectacular views of Bologna's famed arched boulevards. The breakfast was by far the most varied and nutritious of any I came across during the month I spent traveling through Italy. Best described as "All You Can Eat." Fresh cold cuts, fruits, breads, pastries, yogurts. On top of that that, one of Giovanni's employees is a lovely woman who prepares fresh cakes, cookies and pastries every morning. Not only is she a terrific cook, she also makes a great cappuccino.

Staying at B&B Santo Stefano was like vacationing in a five star hotel. Without having to pay those exorbitant prices. If and when I return to Bologna, this is the only place I would ever stay.
James, Venice Beach, California

Room Tip: I would request a room with a view of Via Santo Stefano. Those Bolognese arches are something to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owner is lovely and helpful and the breakfast is to die for!
The whole hotel has been stylishly renovated and I would recommend a stay here.
The hotel is with walking distance to the main square.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Over the past 10 years, my wife Hana and I have been to Italy numerous times, and have probably stayed in 40+ smaller boutique hotels or quiet B&B's. But I would have to say that our recent stay at B&B Stefano in the heart of historic Bologna, make it our favourite B&B ever! This is high praise, but the owner Giovanni (and his staff Milli) have earned the praise. Let me explain.
Giovanni has painstakingly renovated this property recently - with an attention to detail and level of quality you might expect in a million$$++ home, but you do not typically see in a B&B. From Frette linens in your room and a true spa quality bathroom complete with large soaker tub, to the NY loft vibe in the sunshine filled common room, B&B Stefano is a cut above at a very fair price. And this is just the beginning.
No request was too much for Giovanni, whether it was extras at breakfast or reservations for the best restaurants in Bologna or making recommendations to find a specific book on Bologna we were looking for, he consistently exceeded expectations. For example, at breakfast Milli made my husband eggs every morning accompanied with as many barista quality cafe's as requested. For dinner Giovanni saw to it that we had reservations for some of the best restaurants (quality not price) we have ever experienced in Italy... from Osteria Bottega to Tamburini. Although granted, the fact we were we were in Bologna made the task a little easier! :)

This is a small B&B with three rooms available. Despite being completely booked during our four night stay, we felt as though the entire flat was occupied only by ourselves. The level of service we experienced was comparable and even better than most 4 or 5 star hotels - quiet, unobtrusive, yet always available when required.

In closing, my only regret in writing this review is that the word really gets out about B&B Stefano, and there's no room for us on our next trip to Bologna! BRAVO Giovanni!! Ciao until our next trip where we look forward to staying at B&B Stefano again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Santo Stefano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Santo Stefano

Address: Via S. Stefano 84, 40125 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast Santo Stefano is a charming relais situated in one of the most beautiful streets of our city - in a historic building in the center of Bologna - in via Santo Stefano 84.The recent renovation and the old sense of hospitality will allow you to spend a pleasant stay in an elegant and refined place with every comfort.Each morning you will appreciate a plentiful continental breakfast sitting in the bow window overlooking the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your B&B Santo Stefano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Santo Stefano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.