We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large open plaza with access to museums and cathedrals, but not much else.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza Maggiore

Piazza Maggiore
Piazza Maggiore, Bologna, Italy (Santo Stefano)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$125*
and up
Private Tour: Bologna Cycling Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #5 of 128 Attractions in Bologna
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Montezuma, ks
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Large open plaza with access to museums and cathedrals, but not much else.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just a large open square. The best thing about the Piazza Maggiore is it's usefulness in getting your bearings. We used it as "point zero" and explored our way around it using it as a reference point.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    487
    84
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
226 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Piazza Maggiore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I visited Bologna with family in April. We stayed overnight in Bologna between Florence and Venice. Although we only had a short time to look around Bologna in the morning before our train, it was a lovely town. All the different porticoes on the way to Piazza Maggiore were interesting to see. The piazza itself was picturesque, especially with San Petronio, the surrounding buildings and the Fontana del Nettuno in the adjoining piazza. I'm sure there were many other things to see in Bologna if we'd had more time. It is somewhere I would like to visit again if I return to Italy.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Splendid library”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Bologna's socialist credentials are on show in this splendid conversion of a palazzo into a huge library complex with comfortable rooms to look at books, mags, use computers, have a coffee and attend lectures. The building is magnificent and it was good to see it being so well used.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Central piazza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Everything seems to flow off this square and ideally you need your hotel to be close by. Nice coffee houses and Basillica at each end, with Neptune's statue in the next square.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Magical place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Piazza Maggiore is such a magical place right in the center of Bologna! Every day you go, you just want to sit or walk from on side to the other, watching people, listening to so many different songs, played by students, or musicians! I never want to leave! My 6 years old son loves the piazza, and he goes crazy with the balloons, music, birds and the Netuno - a beautiful Fontana right in front of the library. You also finds a 24hr pharmacy there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Maggiore also viewed

 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Piazza Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza Maggiore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.