We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain in Bologna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Elite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Elite to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Elite
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelio Saffi 36, 40131 Bologna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bargain in Bologna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

A short, cheap and not so scenic taxi journey away from the airport and you will discover Grand Hotel Elite. The hotel was fantastic value for money and it boasted vintage decor throughout!

The breakfast consisted of delicious fat of the pig throat (Mortadella), fresh salami, sought after cheese slices and stale bread. Also, not forgetting the miniature croissants. A shortage of hot water in the shower seemed to become an issue around breakfast time too, so head up there early for hot water and cheese priority!

Our room was big, clean and free from city noise. Prior to booking, we requested a non-smoking room which lead to us being allocated the top floor room with a mountainous view.

The hotel staff were friendly, polite and spoke good english. The restaurant in the evening was consistently quiet, but that ensured the one-man team did not struggle.

With a half an hour walk up the straight stretch, you will find the centre of Bologna. Alternatively there is a small tobacco shop a few doors down from the hotel which sells cheap bus tickets to different locations, including to the centre. San Michele in Bosco (a church on the hill attraction) was good and easy to travel to from the hotel. Mambo Art Museum too was interesting, but for an afternoon aperitif and scenic view, search to discover Hotel Touring where you will attain a rooftop terrace overlooking Bologna. Either pretend you are a guest and jump straight in the lift to the top floor or simply be incredibly polite and persistent, like we were.

Prioritise food, wine and beautiful scenery in Bologna. Visit Venice, Florence or Rome via a short regional train journey away from Bologna Central Station on spare days.

Overall, The Grand Hotel Elite along with Bologna, makes the perfect value short break destination. It's clean, quiet and hassle-free.

Room Tip: Request back top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    298
    119
    26
    18
See reviews for
131
213
35
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014



We didn't really know what to expect of Bologna since it's not a huge tourist destination in Italy.

We enjoyed a couple of days at Hotel Grand Elite- only €13 for a taxi directly from Bologna airport.

The staff were helpful. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but were pleased with our deluxe room; lots of space with a small balcony giving a view over the city (although no balcony furniture). The room had a small kitchenette area, but no glasses/cutlery etc so we could to really make use of it.

We didn't find Bologna the gastro experience we had hoped for, but there were a few nice restaurants between the hotel and the town centre- about a 15 minute walk.

Pick up a free tourist map on the airport that will guide you to the weird and wonderful sights, bars and restaurants.

Watch out when sitting outside one of the bars on the main piazza overlooking San Piedro- the 'coperta', or covers charge, is considerable.

I wouldn't go back to Bologna- two days there and we were ready for somewhere with a bit more to see and do. Hotel Grand Elite was a pleasant way to start our trip.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel is really old fashioned, 20 years ago the furniture was i guess outstanding. Nevertheless paying ~20 euro per person/night was really good, clean towels, clean bedding, that was ok. There were no glasses, plates in the room, only one plastic glass per person. That's why I'm wondering why they have 4 stars? In summary our stay was really great at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We booked this last week, 3 days before travelling. It is quite far out of the centre (about 20/25 minutes walk) but is a straight walk down the same road. On arrival we were given room 800 on the top floor with amazing views. I wasn't expecting much but there was a small kitchen, big sofa, stools and a breakfast bar, balcony with amazing views, bathroom with hairdryer.

Pleasent stay, the wifi doesn't work great on the 8th floor but if you ask at recpetion they will reset it and it seemed to work after that. We didn't opt for the breakfast, if you want it on the morning it's 10 euros extra. If you are planning on having breakfast out there are plenty of supermarkets and places to eat on the same street. If you can get it cheaper when booking the hotel I would suggest this. It is served between 7am - 10. Fresh bedding and towels everyday.

Really enjoyable stay. Also the TV's in the room, some of the English films/programmes that are dubbed over give you the option to change to English on the 'tools' section on the remote.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in September 2013. The rooms were nice and clean, service was friendly and the overall look of the hotel was quite good. It was close to some amazing restaurants. The bar was attractive and it was close to the major sights.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Travelled with family (2 young kids).
Room was big, with small kitchenette.
The beds are the right size; not the most confortable mattresses.
Dinner at the restaurant - below average.
Hotel is pretty close to city center...20 minutes walk - just OK if you go to town once, otherwise bus is probably better option.
Good private parking @ 15€/day
The booking was done last minute and the price was good.
If the stay is longer than 1 day i would probably consider something different; maybe something a bit more outside, but with more green a more local "taste"

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Exceeded expectations. Room (for 4 persons): very big, with view to San Luca, had small kitchenette and bar,big TV, big wardrobe. Comfortable big beds. Staff friendly and helpful. Not far away from city center- about 15-20 min walk or easy access with bus (bus stop near hotel). 10 min to airport by taxi. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elite

Address: Via Aurelio Saffi 36, 40131 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel in Bologna manages to satisfy all its guests' needs with a vast range of proposals varying in quality and service, all of 106 rooms and suites.It's simple: we manage to offer much more to guests who are looking for a room, we offer a Suite. Elegance and refinement dominate the characteristics of each room, from the splendid classical structures to the interiors in precious wood, marble and brass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Elite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.