We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Elite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Elite to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Elite
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelio Saffi 36, 40131 Bologna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More than perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Spent three nights there with a friend whilst sight seeing in Bologna. Near train station, airport and town centre. Lovely clean spacious room and absolutely loved the decor. Only downside was the faint smell of stale tabacco, I guess the hotel hasnt been refurbiqshed since the smoking ban. Receptionists were friendly and spoke english too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Charlotte,

Thank you indeed for your kind review.

We really apologize for tobacco smell inconvenience: we will assure more and more attention.

We hope to welcome you back to Bologna as soon.

Best regards.

Marco Bertuzzi - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    298
    119
    26
    18
See reviews for
131
213
35
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, Wales, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I absolutely adored my stay at this hotel. First, the price - fantastic value as I paid just over 100 Euros for three nights, including a Saturday night. The most pleasing aspect was the service. The staff were incredibly friendly. I speak broken Italian, but they were patient and did speak in English when conversation broke down! I have to mention the porter who escorted me to my room - he didn't speak English but displayed such humour, it made my stay memorable. These first impressions really did count for a lot. The room itself was clean, the fittings were decent, there was a TV, a great desk and a mini-bar (though no tea/coffee making facilities). I was fortunate to have a balcony at the back (the front does look out onto a main road). OK, so there wasn't really much to admire from my balcony but, it was a great little sun trap and it was relatively peaceful. Room service was attentive, and the rooms were cleaned each day - to an impeccable standard. I met up with friends who live in Bologna and they implored me to give them the details of the hotel as they too were really impressed when they came in and had a quick look around. Grand Hotel Elite is one of those hotels I would gladly recommend - it is one of the reasons why I would love to return to Bologna! Regarding location - I think it is perfect - away from the slightly claustrophobic centre, but a manageable stroll (e.g. 5 mins to main gate of the ruined city walls). It is on the 'right side' of the airport too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really enjoy reading your opinion about Grand Hotel Elite, since customer satisfaction is our target.

The whole staff wishes thank you for the published review and we sincerely hope to welcome you back to Bologna.

Best regards

Marco Bertuzzi – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Although a bit old , this is a very clean and comfortable hotel. Bologna centre is not far away . The facility of the garage is a bit expensive 12 euros per night. Also we did not have any breakfast cause it was also 12 euros and we thought we get something more cheaper.Ammenties in the bathroom were stocked every day and we had clean towels everyday. All in all can't complain and staff were friendly too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My two sons and I paid a total of Euro 175.00 for three nights. The staff, very helpful and courteous. The rooms spacious, well kept and cleaned daily...and nicely air conditioned. Stayed at this hotel on three different occasions and never disappointed.
Railway station is 15 minutes walk and so is Bologna centre. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: we stayed on the fifth floor and encountered no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spend there few nights and were satisfied. Even it looks a bit old, rooms are clean. Breakfast might be approved and service could be a little bit more polite. Drink list in bar could be better and service a bit faster.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for your kind review and we enjoy for you satisfaction.

Customer opinions are very important for us to improve our services, and we will consider carefully your suggestions.

Best regards

Marco Bertuzzi - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

It's a bit far to get to from the station so taking a taxi is recommended. The lobby is small but the most stylish i've seen compared to the other hotels i've stayed in. The elevator is also small but the rooms are big especially for 2 people. Ammenities are well stocked, they even have bath salts! It's just weird how the shower is placed outside the bathroom. For the price, this is a good and comfy choice, worth the money.

Room Tip: Make your requests known to the receptionist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much indeed!

Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Elite and staying with us.

Thank you for your nice review and for your precious time spent for it.

We hope to welcome you back to Bologna as soon.

Best regards

Marco Bertuzzi – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Romney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just returned from Bologna where we spent five nights at the Grand Hotel Elite. I thought that it was value for money and although everywhere is a little dark you get what you pay for and if you wany luxury five star go somewhere else. I would definitely recommend the hotel. Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed and good size bathroom. Clean towels evey day. Very good!!The staff were efficient, helpful and friendly and the breakfast was fine. So much choice!! So if you do not mind a twenty minute walk to the centre of Bologna this is the one for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elite

Address: Via Aurelio Saffi 36, 40131 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel in Bologna manages to satisfy all its guests' needs with a vast range of proposals varying in quality and service, all of 106 rooms and suites.It's simple: we manage to offer much more to guests who are looking for a room, we offer a Suite. Elegance and refinement dominate the characteristics of each room, from the splendid classical structures to the interiors in precious wood, marble and brass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Elite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.