We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet space in the center of Bologna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A quiet space in the center of Bologna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I spent one night of a two-night trip to Bologna here. We wish we had spent both nights. The first night was in a small stark room by a very noisy busy street. We went out looking the next day and found this place. They said they put us in a junior suite for the price of a regular room. I'm not exactly sure. The room definitely cost significantly more than the stark room on the noisy street. But the room at the Metropolitan was absolutely lovely. It opened onto an interior roof-top courtyard. It was spacious and quiet. We could sit and work in the courtyard. And it was extremely restful. Breakfast was good. Lots of very different small things, very nicely prepared. The staff were wonderful. Very helpful. Very informative. Suggested places to see, places to eat, places to drink and were right on all accounts. We would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    305
    60
    11
    3
See reviews for
127
323
94
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Although we had booked a Superior room on the courtyard, we were upgraded to a Junior Suite. Thanks all around, then we were put on the elevator to the second floor. The maid led us around to the other side of the building, then out a door, down some steps, across the lovely courtyard, and into our room, No. 603.

We looked around in amazement. The main part of the large room was on a platform (see photo), one step above the level where the double sink and open walk-in shower were located. All were open to the bed area. The toilet and bidet were in a separate small room, with a glass door, of course. The shower enclosure had three walls (see photo), enabling the person taking a shower to freeze! And the raised platform was a disaster waiting to happen, especially if one awakened during the night and forgot to step down on the way to the toilet room. The closet was in another step down room, but could be reached from the platform. I wanted to request another room, but my husband was tired and said we should just tough it out for the two nights.

When we returned to the room after dinner, we realized that the light outside the glass room door was permanently on and there was no blackout curtain on the door. In addition, daylight would wake us up early, which it did. No Kleenex in the room, surprising for a hotel of this quality. And no exhaust fan in the toilet room, just a small vent above the door into the bedroom. The bed was good and firm, the air conditioning was effective, the outside sitting area was lovely, access to Fox News was great -- but a very impractical room!

We awakened much too early, thanks to daylight streaming in through the room door. Breakfast was average, not as good as in many other hotels. The people at reception were very friendly and helpful. And I suspect that most of the rooms in the hotel were just fine, as the quality of the room and furnishings was very good.

Other thoughts -- the small street the hotel faces has a restaurant with outdoor tables, so rooms facing the front of the hotel would find the noise disturbing. Also, if you drive into the street to drop off your bags, you will have to back out. It might be easier to back in toward the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guests
thanks for the lovely and long review you posted on Trip Advisor.
Unfortunately, not all guests understand the solution in our beautiful jr.suite, the front desk at check-in showed you the room with the shower in the new "travertine" open, (thanks for the photo you posted about it all the customers can see,) and maybe you did not appreciate it, but it was a special update for free, the intention was to impress you, positively .... in any case, you could change the room immediately or the next day.
And just to clarify:
1st - we are 3 stars hotel, not all the amenities you found in the Jr.suite (slippers, bathrobe,double sink etc..is normal to find in this standard of Hotel and for the price you payed...(about the kleenex, we take in consideration your suggestion)
2nd - the 603 room, is located in our courtyard with trees of olives, with out side patio where guests can read a book, relax and take some cool drinks.
3rd- Of course, in the patio there is a light with a regular switch to open or close (when it is necessary, of course, if you do ...) and in the windows there is the blackout curtain.
I'm sure that if you switched off the light and closed the curtains your sleep were fantastic.
4th- The hotel is located in one of the oldest historic center of the city, in a small street (one-way ...), if you come from one direction to go back you have to drive in reverse, there is no doubt, thanks for the suggestion you posted for the other customers.
My apologies, maybe I misinterpreted your review but I'm sure that all the Tipadvisor travellers can see that there is no doubt that you has been "the strangest and most incomprehensible review that we have had" I do not know if your stay was positive or not.
Claudio Salvatore - Hospitality Manager
Hotel Metropolitan & Met's Apartment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

After 9 days on the road from Brindisi to Bologna we arrived to Metropolitan - the best hotel we could imagine.
The were most helpful finding solutions for packing up and storing our bikes for transportation to Denmark.
The staf is very skilled, kind, helpful and they knew just how to make our stay straordinario in Bologna.
I will not hesitate to recommend Hotel Metropolitan to friends and family - and I look forward to stay in Metropolitan on our next trip to Bologna. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I recently spent three nights in one of the Mets Apartments with my husband and young daughter (she is almost two). We would highly recommend it - the location is great, just a short walk to the centre. The apartments are a short walk from the hotel and are on a quiet side road. When we made our reservation we were offered a studio apartment. We asked whether there was one available with a separate bedroom (easier for putting our daughter to bed) The manager kindly replied to say there was but it would be 30 euros per night more - but said if it was still available when we checked in we could have it at no extra cost. When we got to our apartment it was one with a separate bedroom and we paid nothing extra as promised so were really pleased. The decor and facilities in the apartment were excellent and there was a travel cot set up for our daughter as requested. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful - the whole place had a lovely feel to it. Would definitely stay there again if we are ever back in Bologna.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I had booked a superior room as a treat to the end of a holiday. I had been upgraded to a junior suite with its own outdoor space. Air-conditioned, 4-poster bed and spacious. Everything included and well-stocked. Even the slippers are very comfortable. It is the thoughtful touches like a rolled up mat ready to put down beside the bed...clean for each new guest.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a wide-ranging buffet and extras were produced when asked for, well worth 12 Euros.

Room Tip: Room 604 for real luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hotel is extremely clean and staff very friendly. Air conditioned Neely refurbished rooms. Boutique minimalist style all white decor with changing lights in the glass fronted wet room. TV mini bar all the mod cons. Not noisy considering proximity to ygr main road. Great location for shops bars and restaurants and only ten minutes walk from main square in your city. We received free upgrades on the rooms being a quieter midweek booking - splendid!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This lovely, modern hotel has good service and a wonderful location on a quiet street off the via Galeria in center city. The hotel is a short walk from the train station. My room was spacious and beautifully appointed, with air conditioning, modern bathroom fixtures, travertine floors, and chic styling. The staff was helpful and welcoming. My room was situated off a rooftop courtyard and had a small semi-private patio area attached. Traveling alone, I thoroughly enjoyed this outdoor terrace in the evening after a day of walking the city. The breakfast was exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.