We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were 4 couples travelling in early October 2013. This small hotel has an outstanding
location for discovering the fantastic old city of Bologna. We were impressed with the generous breakfast included with our room fee and more than satisfied with the value. Future guests should know that this is not a hotel full of ammenities but rather a small comfortable location with wonderful, helpful staff who really seem to care about the quality of your stay. The hotel does have a small elevator and the front staff will pre arrange for your airport transfers. The location on Via dell'Orso is within the old city which to our surprise and delight was closed for motor vehicles during the weekend - this made discovering Bologna so friendly! We highly recommend the Metropolitan Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    306
    60
    11
    3
See reviews for
127
323
95
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City MO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This boutique hotel has a lot going for it: great location, clean comfortable rooms and a very attentive staff. Tucked away a few blocks from the busy main piazza, it provides a calm, quiet atmosphere. I found the room and bathroom to be comfortable, spacious and clean. The real stars here though are the staff. We had trouble finding the hotel (on foot) after the taxi dropped us off. A quick call to the hotel and we were provided directions that got us there in minutes. Check-in was a breeze. Without being asked, the staff provided recommendations for lunch - along with a map with the options highlighted. I asked for dinner recommendations as well, and was provided with a reservation at a typical Bologna trattoria - not a sanitized tourist trap. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Suites in the "olive garden" provide a unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A quirky little stay in this very close to the centre small hotel. When we arrived our rooms were not ready, but we did eventually check in to room 202.

There is no view and the room is fairly basic. Using the free WIFI was annoying as you seemed to have to 'log in' every time. The room standard looked better on the internet photos than the actual rooms.

I enjoyed breakfast at the hotel but did find it a little cramped for space.

The hotel did make some great recommendations for dinners!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mr Williams,
Thanks for your compliments about the staff, they told me they has been at your disposal with pleasure about all the requests you made during your stay.
Of course, as in all the world, our rooms are completely cleaned and hygienized at 02.00 pm, not at 11.00 am when you arrived, I'm very sorrow about you complain.
Accept my apologies about the view in the room but we are in the hearth of the city, an historical city with many buildings nearby.
The room 202 is equipped with a small balcony in the small quiet street, it's a pity that you haven't saw it.
Just for your information all the rooms are exactly as you can see in our website, in our blog, facebook, Pinterest, Flickr etc., of course with some differences , the "superiors" and the "jr suites" are not like the "standard double room" as you reserved, and the differences are not just for the rate you payed, very cheap in effect, maybe you expectation was for a jr.suite at the cost of "standard room" this it's not possible, do you agree?
Regarding the wifi, maybe you has logged in your name for 30 minutes but if you logged in for 24 hours you can navigate for 24 hours, of course free of charge.
We hope to have a pleasure to welcoming you in another occasion, but please inform us about your arrival time.
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrangeville, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We only stayed here one night, arrived late and left early. The room was adequate, clean & comfortable and thats all we were really looking for. Located right in the middle of town, walking distance to the train station. The price didn't include breakfast but there are so many places to grab a bite to eat in Bologna you might actually be better going somewhere else. It was an average inner city hotel in every way. Nothing special but nothing bad. Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a treat, located in a quiet alleyway right off the main walkway in Bologna! Efficient and friendly staff , always great suggestions for restaurants all within walking distance. We had a very comfortable room/
Italian Modern, great bathroom and views to a quiet courtyard that made
us feel like we lived there. The breakfast was an excellent way to start off the day and meet other travelers! We were very pleased, and as we had flown in,the trip from the airport by taxi was about 7-8 minutes and after that we never needed a car during our entire stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were comfortably ensconsed in the Metropolitan for 2 nights, on our first trip to Bologna. The rooms was not large, but perfectly comfortable, and so well located for our purposes. We parked and never moved the car until we left, which was great. Bologna such a nice place to explore on foot. Service was very friendly and helpful, and quiet enough for us on a busy weekend visit. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay again given a chance to visit lovely Bologna again. It is a little difficult to find, but with gps we got close, then with the help of a kind local woman, found the little alleyway entrance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two days in mid September. We were traveling by train from Rome and I had googled walking directions from the train station. While it was a fairly easy walk (10 - 15 minutes), even with luggage, the walking directions take you thru some back streets that may make you wonder what is in store for you. Once you get there you will realize that there is a much easier path to the hotel. The Metropolitan has relatively small rooms but normal for European hotels but every thing is ultra modern. The hotel is a great place go visit old Bologna. If breakfast isn't included in you purchase I will warn you that the want 15 euros per person for it. But, there are plenty of great places literally minutes away to get a cappuccino and pain au chocolate.There are two english language channels available on the TV - BBC World and Fox News (yuck for me but some may like that). The staff can give great restaurant recommendations. We had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.