We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel has a very central location, convenient for all the tourist sights. We had a large room, by European standards, with a modern bathroom. The staff at the front desk were very helpful - gave us really thorough instructions so that we could walk to The Sanctuary of the Madonna of San Luca. Good choice at breakfast. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it's good value and we would recommend it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    345
    67
    11
    3
See reviews for
139
358
96
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had a lovely short stay in Bologna. Beautiful town. The hotel was very central. The staff were all lovely - really friendly and helpful. They suggested sights to see and how to get to places. We had no hot water in bathroom and mentioned it as we were going out. It was sorted by the time we got back. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet had a good choice and was really well presented. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

First, great location. Close enough to the train station and right by the main road. We walked everywhere from this hotel. It's close enough to the main attractions in Bologna. Restaurants, bars right there. If you're into shopping, this is the place to be. The front desk was helpful. Breakfast buffet was great too. Room was small but I think this is rather typical of European hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Being my first time in Italy...this hotel was everything I had expected! Located directly off the Main Street, it's charming & very quiet! You can not drive directly to it by car or taxi, but its only a short distance. The Staff at the front desk was very helpful! If you need directions anywhere they will even map out directions for you. One of the BEST restaurants that was highly recommended by front desk was Twinside which is minutes from hotel. This trip was perfect!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel was simple and modern with tasteful decoration.The staff was exceptional friendly and helpful. The location was close to everything in the town by foot. The bathroom was very nice and the size of the room was good. I would definitely come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

With its central position it is a great choice for both visiting bologna or on business trips. I had a normal room reserved, but since I was staying for a whole week they offered me to upgrade my booking for free to an apartment, which was really large and super new!
The staff was super kind all the time and really helpful from the day I arrived till my departure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Hotel Metropolitan was an average hotel; however Sara at the front desk was exceptional. She was the most helpful, knowledgeable and courteous front desk person we have encountered in a long while and helped make our trip.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms in the front of the hotel as they are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
I'm very sorry for your complaint, we apologies for the inconvenient that the wine bar in front of the hotel have caused.
I'm aware of the truth of your observations, however I would ask you to take in consideration that we are in the city centre, in the hearth of the city, in a small quite street nearby the principal monuments, museum and nearby the most important traditional restaurants knew in all the world, with 2 minutes walk you will arrive in Piazza Maggiore where all the bars and restaurants are open till 11,30 pm and sometimes they make noise, absolutely never after 11,30 pm, all our windows are soundproof for this reason and I am sure that when they are closed they are 100%
the bolognese citizens are very educated and respectfully, the quality of life it's very high, the tourists are very happy to stay in this splendid city, expecially in the centre.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, as you noted our front desk, Sara in particular, but you forgot Roberto, Barbara, Claudio the oldest receptionist (he know all about Bologna) Giancarlo and Giampiero has been at your disposal during all the period with helpful, knowledgeable and courteous suggestions to make your holiday peaceful and serene one.
We are often been praised for the excellent price/quality ratio we offer our guests and for the location, if for you mean AVERAGE, thank you.
We hope to have a pleasure to welcoming you in another occasion, in a room in the back of the hotel....and after we will ask you to change your opinion from average to excellent :))
My best wishes.
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bologna
#8 Family Hotel in Bologna
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.