We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is located very centrally. About a 5 minute walk from the central square and cathedral.
Don't worry about the weather either, as Bologna is full of porticos (covered walkways) so rain or shine it won't bother you.
The room I stayed in was small but clean. The furniture was a bit out dated, although the elevator was a bit slow (and small).
I didn't sit in the garden or eat breakfast due to the many eating options around.
The price is very reasonable considering the other hotels available (and it's central location).
Staff were friendly too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    347
    67
    11
    3
See reviews for
141
360
97
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rimini, Italy
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Location means everything to me when I'm choosing a place to stay.
Bologna makes no exception, even if I'm very familiar with this city.

Metropolitan was definitely a good choice for my short stay (just one night!) in town. The main road (Via Indipendenza) is just around the corner. That means that everything (from the train stations to the main attractions of the city) is walking distance.

As someone else already said, the entrance of the hotel is really nice, modern and elegant.

I had booked a standard room but at the check-in we were offered an upgrade to a suite for something like 40 Euros. We declined the offer as it was already late and we had to leave early on the next morning to catch our flight, so we didn't feel like to spend the extra money for just some hours of sleeping.

Anyway, our room was a basic one, and looking at the pics on the web, completely different from the suites. It was ok though, there's everything you need to feel comfortable (clean, comfy bed, TV with a lot of channels, etc..) maybe I was just expecting something more "design". It fitted us perfectly as we got a very good rate and our stay was meant to be very short, but be aware of that when you book your room here.. if you want something nicer just pay the extra and go for their suites.

Staff is really nice and helpful, with good advices for visitors. Free WiFi is available, and breakfast is brilliant. Lots of fresh fruit, pastries, juices, cheese and more.. plenty of choice, loved it.

Would I come back to Metropolitan? Probably yes, if only I could find the suite at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It's not often that I review a hotel and haven't got one negative thing to say! This hotel is lovely, in a perfect location close to the main street with many restaurants and within walking distance to the train station. When we arrived, I had booked a room but reception offered us an upgrade to a suite for a minimal extra charge so we jumped at that. The suite was absolutely beautiful just off of a little courtyard. The bed was so comfortable and the room had a lovely stylish decor. The shower was huge with a gorgeous rain head and power jets and there were plenty of towels and nice toiletries. The suite also had a fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, a laptop safe and fast free wifi. There were also plenty of English speaking cable TV channels to choose from. All the staff we came across were super helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great, with lots of little things to choose from and everything served in a fresh, contemporary setting. I would definitely recommend this hotel, particularly the suite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We wanted a few days away after a very full on time at work and we got sucked into the Metropolitans hotel website and the photos made it look amazing! However when we turned up we were shown to a very very basic room (Didnt see a photo of that room on the website!) but it was very clean, cool and the bathroom was fine (Although there was an odd smell coming out of an area by the toilet the whole time, a bit like sewage!?)
Breakfast was a mixture of being completely bizzare and great, lots of little things to choose from, the breakfast room was a bit soulless but pretty enough and nicely decorated. The hotel is in a great location, just off the main road and at the reception their English was limited but they were nice and as helpful as they could be...
Would I stay there again? Probably not, I would have rather paid less and stayed somewhere as central in a more basic hotel or paid more and stayed somewhere really nice...this was bang in the middle....as a couple we wanted something a bit more special...this is great for a one night business trip, not a 4 night stay....

Room Tip: In hindsight we would have paid more for one of the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks, of course we have to thank you for your review.
Your notes are perfectly true.
In the web site we cannot show all the 50 rooms we have, we are not a chain hotel where all the rooms are exactly the same, this is our home and each room is different from the other and we are very proud of this, the property is very attentive in the choices.
Of course for us is important that there was many satisfactory reviews posted for the same room where you stayed.
Maybe you are more exigent, correct and legitimate, and obviously we have some special rooms for special occasion, the jr.suites in our courtyard are perfect for " romantic trip" I'm very sorry that you has not told us that was a special occasion, and that you has not saw our "olive's courtyard".
We hope to have the opportunity to show you them in the next trip in Bologna, in the meantime we hope that the city of Bologna has been quite what you expected, for us this is most important.
best regards
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were worried when the taxi stopped in the main road, and showed us down an alley to the hotel BUT we were pleasantly surprised by the modern entrance to the hotel. The staff was exellent and breakfast well presented. Great location to see all the historic sights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Paula
thanks for your positive review.
In effect we are in a splendid pedestrian area, in a small street very quiet and your first impression was correct, I'm very happy for know that your has been an pleasant surprise when you has been arrived in Hotel.
We will send your compliments to the staff.
Thanks a lot.
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Good hotel with a good value. Nice clean rooms, huge bathroom. Super well located. Just don't take the concierge's restaurant recommendation and do your own research on tripadvisor. We were on a high floor so we didn't have any noise problems. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest
thanks for your positive impression you posted on Tripadvisor.
I'm sorry you was not satisfied about the restaurants that the concierge has suggested you, the reccomendation of the Restaurants (we are in the city centre, there are many many restaurants good and less good )are simply based about the reviews from our Guests, let me know where you has took dinner, will be very important for us.
Looking forward to see you back.
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Booked this hotel for a 3 night break based on reviews from Trip Advisor - was not disappointed. Great location and overal quality of the hotel was really good. Bedroom was serviced, beds made and clean towels provided every day and we had a top floor room at the back of the hotel so was nice and quiet.

There is a car park nearby to which the hotel is connected - provides a small discount - but still costs €15 for 24 hours. As Bologna is basically traffic free, I did not have a problem paying this.

As another poster mentioned, breakfast is beautifully presented and tasty, but everything comes bite-size, which is a little odd, so just kept going back for more!

Would stay again, and fully recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks for one of the best review we received,
it is very plenty and clear regarding our standard and the services we want to give to our Guests.
We hope to have the opportunity to see you again in Bologna.
Best regards
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Family Hotel in Bologna
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.