We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zanhotel Tre Vecchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Zanhotel Tre Vecchi to your Saves list
Zanhotel Tre Vecchi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell'Indipendenza, 47, 40121 Bologna, Italy (Porto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Helsinki,Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is bit outdated but clean and rooms are spacious.
Staff is friendly and eager to help.
No loud noise from any bars/clubs so very good sleep.
If any to complain it must be the breakfast:
It is very southern european style: lot´s of sweet cakes and pastries but lacking a porridge or any fresh vegetables like tomatoes,cucumbers and paprika/peppers.

With very minor upgrade this would be one of the best hotels in Bologna.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    150
    99
    44
    21
See reviews for
70
102
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a good location in Bologna. A large flea market is close by, and the main square is about a 5 minute walk. The wifi didn't work. The rooms were average at best. The food was unremarkable. The lobby was the nicest part of the hotel. The breakfast room required a lot of stairs.

Room Tip: Average for European standards. Below average for American standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I don't usually moan about my hotels , but this time I had to.Very disappointed,

I usually stay in Il Canale round the corner, but thought I would try this one this time, don't bother, firstly the staff are miserable, how hard is it to crack a smile, the breakfast was dire.

The room was OK front facing room a great view of the Teatro and the street,
I
I love Bologna, its cool, there's things to do, easily accessible from the station to places like Florence and Rome, its a good base.
Good for shopping and food of course! I recommend visiting Bologna, Café Rosso is good value,
Trattoria Gianni is very welcoming and friendly and also good food, the best Ragu i've had since my visits. Pizza Niccolo for the big pizzas and of course try the Lambrusco vino ,

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Since more than five years and this is the place of my stay with the family in the city of Bologna, Italy, where the hotel is located in the city of Bologna in Via Indipendenza the center and away from the Piazza Maggiore less than 10 minutes' walk from the foot hotel and the advantage near the possibility of world-class shopping, restaurants, cafes and keep him a small distance from the public parks .
This central hotel is 4-star near the Bologna train station and offers easy access to public transportation and friendly service, clean rooms and a complimentary breakfast buffet.
Zanhotel Hotel Tre Vecchi Hotel is located in a historic building on one of the main streets of the city. The hotel offers a concierge service and a comfortable lift.
You'll find classic decor, two showrooms and a bar, two meeting and Wi-Fi in public areas and in some of the rooms in the Hotel Tre Vecchi. Nearby a large car park is available for an additional cost of daily.
And more of this wonderful reception from the hotel staff and wonderful smile for everyone and speak all the languages ​​in addition to English and Arabic Italian
It was Mr. Mekki , a Moroccan nationality of the finest characters, as well as a Jana Eugenia Sister Italian nationality in addition to the rest of the crew,
All rooms at the Hotel Tre Vecchi come with air conditioning, minibar and wages per-view movies and satellite TV, hair dryer and safe.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable and well equipped. We were based at the front of the Hotel but it was still quiet enough for a city centre . The service was good and informative. The breakfast buffet was extensive. All in all a good value hotel in a great location.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Our room was filthy, with water stains on the ceiling, incredibly dirty carpeting, mold in the bathroom, etc. It had air conditioning, which worked for 1 day. When we asked them to fix it we were told that their ac was not as powerful as that in the US. We explained that it was blowing powerfully, just was not cool. The desk clerk was quite rude about it and nothing was done. Thus we tried to sleep with the window open, resulting in mosquito bites and little sleep since it was so noisy. Free wifi meant 1 hour only, which had to be used within 24 hours, and it did not work in our room. Breakfast was not impressive, with cold, tasteless scrambled eggs. The website directions from the train station implied walking from there, but with luggage and uneven sidewalks it was not a good idea. the room had a safe, but it was sitting loose in the bottom of the armoire, so it could have been locked and removed from the room. The only good thing about this hotel was the location near the center of the city.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

The hotel looks beautiful from the outside and the foyer is beautifully decorated. The staff were very polite and helpful. However our room, though very clean, was a little dated and had a water stain on the ceiling. Also there were no tea and coffee making facilities and room service was pricey. The breakfast was good and the dining area was very pleasant. We were disappointed to find that there was no restaurant on the premises. I think a little updating is called for to make this hotel as good as it could be.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanhotel Tre Vecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanhotel Tre Vecchi

Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 47, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanhotel Tre Vecchi 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zanhotel Tre Vecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre Vecchi Hotel
Tre Vecchi Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanhotel Tre Vecchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.