We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel if driving to Bologna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nuovo Hotel del Porto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nuovo Hotel del Porto to your Saves list
Nuovo Hotel del Porto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Porto, 6, 40122 Bologna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good central hotel if driving to Bologna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a vert effective, no thrills hotel. I can't speak for the bedrooms in the main building but our bedroom in the annexe was spacious and spotless with a very comfortable bed. It was about 30metres round the corner so whilst thi sis ok in fine weather I can imagine you wouldn't be best pleased having to walk to the hotel for breakfast through wind and rain!

Having said that, the reception area was clean and tidy and staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was small but tables cleared promptly as and when peole finished. Breakfast itself was perfectably acceptable without being anythig special.

The good thing about the hotel was secure on site parking easily accessible without having to drive too far into the old centre and at a reasonable rate of €12 overnight (as an indication, parking in the street nearby was €0.80 an hour) - and they were quite happy with us leaving the car for a few hours after checking out to enable us to continue exploring for a little longer.

To stroll to Piazza Maggiore takes about 10 - 15mins direct but Bologna is a nice enough city that you're better off meandering in that general direction and seeing what happens!

All in all a very acceptable, reasonably priced hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    182
    99
    22
    8
See reviews for
52
163
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Very basic price reflects this tidy and clean rooms fine for an overnight but no more really breakfast is nothing special but fine limited selection
It is walking distance from the train station but if coming in at night could be hard to find throught the streets
Stayed. For one night and it was fine for that really

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We liked this hotel. It is close to the train station and the city centre, the receptionists were friendly and professional, the room was clean and comfortable, with airconditioning and a good bathroom. The free WiFi worked well. The breakfast was good, but the breakfast room was not big enough, so one morning we had to wait for a table. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Everything was ok, maybe the location was not so good, but i have to tell that was near to the train station. If I have to go to Bologna again I would not hesitate to get to that hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at nuovo hotel for 2 days in July. The room was a little bit small, nothing special but it was clean and the bathroom was acceptable. The breakfast was very good and the reception helpful when we asked some help. The hotel is near the train station but a little bit far (15 min of walking) from Maggiore square. The great thing about this hotel is it's price. So I would stay there again in the futur.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our family of 3 loved this hotel. We walked from the train to the hotel, got settled and then took off. It's an easy walk to everything. Ask the desk personnel for their restaurant recommendations (the Cat is amazing). Many great, reasonable choices. Good a/c (despite 103 degree heat outside), WiFi, clean rooms. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It is one of the few establishments in Italy where you can find English-speaking personnel, amenities at the bathroom and a decent breakfast. Excellent location, between the train station and Piazza Maggiore, at the city center. Very helpful personnel. I would definetely recommended and I would stay there again, given the chance. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nuovo Hotel del Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuovo Hotel del Porto

Address: Via del Porto, 6, 40122 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nuovo Hotel del Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nuovo Hotel del Porto is in the center of Bologna near the train station. It's the ideal hotel to stay when you plan a trip in major Italian cities of central and northern. The hotel has a large enclosed parking in front of the building. You can reach the center and Piazza Maggiore easily in a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nuovo Hotel del Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuovo Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuovo Hotel del Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.