We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and even better staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porta San Mamolo to your Saves list
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo Del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and even better staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

I stayed in this wonderful small hotel for an extended period and I would definitely stay there again. A great staff. Hotel Porta San Mamolo is located in walking distance from the Piazza Maggiore, the Two Towers, where there are some particularly good shops, and the Bologna's bustling food market.
Even if the hotel does not have a restaurant there are plenty of choices just a stone's throw away.
Easy to reach by car, even if parking is limited. I just love this hotel. The hotel is great and the staff are even better. If you are staying in Bologna you must stay here!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    241
    39
    8
    4
See reviews for
162
477
72
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Just stayed here for 5 nights over the new year with my partner.

Really good hotel. It is not a five star hotel, but when one looks back with pleasure at places you have stayed, it is not the 5 star hotel with every amenity, but hotels like these, with incredibly friendly and helpful staff, a good clean confortable room, and moreover a place that reflects the charm, traditions and culture of Italy at it's best.

Like everyone else, I read reviews before booking. It is no more than 10 mins easy walk to the central square. Well worth a stop at Tony's Bar on the way down or back - such a friendly guy, nice bar, and enough hot and cold nibbles so you may not even need to eat at a restaurant! Breakfast is typically Italian, fresh cakes are baked daily which I believe cater for resticted diets.

I have to mention the fantastic restaurant opposite hotel "Le Mura" - I just wrote a long review on that one. So so worth a visit, or two.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Our 5 night stay was wonderful and most enjoyable. The room was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet both beautiful and delicious. The entire staff could not have been more helpful with some of the best restaurant recommendations and meal memories of our trip.
Thank you to everyone there. Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Thanks to other tripadvisor reviewers, we decided to overnight at this great little hotel which is within walking distance to the center of Bologna.
The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful to us. Rooms were super clean and spacious. There was free wifi access throughout the hotel and it worked great. Breakfast was also very, very good and included in the room price.
All in all, this was a wonderful experience and we'll return to this cozy little hotel soon!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed here based on the #1 rating for Bologna B&Bs on Trip Advisor. Although very nice in some ways I am not sure it deserves a #1 rating.

Pluses:
Very competent and helpful staff. Very polished. Roberto the owner is on site and actively managing.
Located very close to 2 or 3 extremely good restaurants. It is so nice to walk out the door and to dinner 2 or 3 minutes away!
Breakfast room and breakfast offerings are very nice. These were the only scrambled eggs we had on our trip that were really good!

Minuses:
The walk to the Piazza Maggiore is not far, but it is not close if that is important. Sometimes it was just farther than I wanted to walk at the end of a long day or in the evening.
The bed and pillows are OK but not great.
We paid for an upgraded room. I think I wrongly assumed that would get us a room with some extra space. The room had a balcony but the room itself was small. Not worth paying the extra if what you get is a balcony. And we could not use the balcony anyway because of the weather.

Enjoy your stay here but I if you decide to upgrade see what the room options are first. Maybe there are some rooms that are a little larger than what we had.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

i am a world traveler, and stay principally at 5 star hotels, but my very favorite hotel in europe is the San Mamolo. it has something that no large hotel has, the charm of the being someone's guest, the nooks and crannies as the story books write, are almost enchanting.
each room is different, with beamed ceilings that have that real european touch. not only is the hotel charming but the owner Sr, Roberto is unique as a hotelier. he will do everything from park your car, to pick you up at the airport, to carry your bags down the stairs at the no elevator train station. The rest of the staff, headed up by the lovely GM, Miss Irene, is as accommodating as you could ever wish. breakfast is delightful. there is free internet, which i can not believe that larger hotels still get away with charging for. The Hotel San Mamolo is Bolonga's number one hotel for me as you are not a vistor but always a guest.
Beverly Feldman
Beverly Feldman Shoes

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

The hotel was quaint, very affordable and had a good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Address: Vicolo Del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#5 Family Hotel in Bologna
#10 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porta San Mamolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.