We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porta San Mamolo to your Saves list
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo Del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My only complaint was that it was a little hard to find! Stayed here for two nights and would definitely go back. The room was not fancy but was clean, well kept and comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful and the breakfast was very good. If you are trying to find it the directions in some of the travel books are not quite accurate. I had to ask some locals

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    240
    39
    8
    4
See reviews for
162
475
72
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Boutique hotel in a very quiet area of Bologna south of the centre. Large rooms. Breakfasts are good, but no better than you would expect, although the conservatory style breakfast room was very nice, and must be really good in summer when you could sit outside. As ever with a hotel that has a good Trip Advisor rating, the service was first class and personable, and could not be faulted.

Bologna doesn't seem to be particularly touristy, and certainly not on the level of Rome Florence or Venice, and perhaps because of that we found restaurants more difficult to find than we are used to. On this basis we must recommend the one at the end of the the street where the hotel is -Al Sangiovese. Seemed to us that there were only local Italians there, and popular to the extent that you need to book - surely no other recommendation needed. We loved it and ate there 3 times.

The only issue with the hotel is its location. Most hotels will be closer to the centre than this one. The 15 minute walk was not that bad, but we used Bologna as a base to visit Modena (charming) Ravenna (off-the-clock spectacular mosaics both visually and historically) and Ferrara (would have been a lot nicer if it hadn't been raining, which was a shame). The problem is that the station is a 35 minute walk from the hotel, and although we are used to walking, we started to find the distance a bit much come the end of our stay. Taxi was 12 euros each way, which we thought was a bit much.

Would we stay here again? Well, given how much there is to see in the world, we probably won't go back to Bologna, but if we did and if we were going to make regular visits to the station then we would think twice, otherwise, then probably yes!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just back after a three day visit to Bologna. The hotel was excellent and we would definitely return. How many city centre hotels can you recommend which are so quiet and tranquil at night? A wonderful find.

Room Tip: Room 208 had lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had an excellent weekend stay in this smallish boutique-style hotel. Our first-choice B&B was full, but our stay in Porta San Mamola more than made up for it. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful, and we loved the two beautiful cats who liked to hang out around the reception area. Sleep quality and breakfast were also great, and the location is really convenient and quiet - 15 mins walk to Piazza Maggiore, but situated in a very quiet part of Bologna. We would definitely return....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for just one night and really enjoyed it. It's quite quaint and full of character, and we thought the quiet location about 15 min walk from the Piazza Maggiore ideal. Our attic room was lovely, and, though not huge, it was large enough to fit in a travelcot for our 2 year old. Breakfast offered a good range and although, unusually perhaps, we had to wait ca. 20 minutes for a table, we didn't really mind as it was a busy Sunday morning with guests enjoying their breakfast at a leisurely pace. Plus, they do have extra tables on the terrace for the warmer months. All hotel staff we encountered were professional, extremely helpful and made us feel really welcome, especially the front-desk staff. When we'd returned to our room in the evening, we found they had left a bottle of wine with a message from the hotel's director for my husband as it was his birthday. We were really touched by this attentive gesture - and the wine, which has since been enjoyed, was so good, we're tempted to source some of it! Thank you for making our short stay special. We will surely return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Excellent location for visiting the city, beautiful decoration in the room and at the reception, helpful staff, good breakfast in a nice little restaurant room + outside tables, but the breakfast place was quite small considering the amount of people who were having breakfast. Nice little courtyard. The bedroom was very big, beds were not very comfortable but ok, spacious bathroom but a bit cold. We had a big family room. There was no baby bed in the bedroom as planned when we arrived, but upon request, the staff immediately brought a bed and made it. No possibility to have dinner inside of the hotel nor room service, which is not that practical with small children, but there is a good restaurant right in front of the hotel, and we could have a delivery in our bedroom from this restaurant. We also had pizzas delivered once. I would recommend this place, but maybe rather for couples.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This place is so charming. I really enjoyed my stay here and would stay again.
The location is excellent...just a few quick blocks away from the main piazza. Those few blocks take just a couple minutes to walk, but provide a nice break from the busy city at the end of a long day of sight seeing!
If you're feeling lazy and want to stay nearby the hotel, I highly recommend Al Sangiovese at the end of the block for lunch or dinner - exceptional food.
The staff was helpful and accommodating. The food was great - breakfast is served in a gorgeous greenhouse type room... just beautiful! I asked for a room with a view and they delivered! I got an excellent room on the top floor with great views and cathedral ceilings.
My only small criticism is that the walls are a bit thin and I could hear comings and goings and talking in the hallways. It didnt keep me awake, but if you're a very light sleeper, it might be an issue.
Really an excellent hotel all around... and just oozing with charm! Recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Address: Vicolo Del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#5 Family Hotel in Bologna
#10 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porta San Mamolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.