We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value for money with great funny friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porta San Mamolo to your Saves list
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo Del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money with great funny friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

About 15 minutes walk from the main square you will find this great hotel with tennis court sized rooms. Massive TV's free wifi and a 5 minute walk across your room from bed to toilette thats not a complaint. Huge beds and beautiful garden location for a great included breakfast. Think this is the most value for money I have every had from a Hotel the world over. Bologna is great too with amazing food

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, Direttore at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Friend
really thank you for your wonderful review this encourage me and my staff to do better every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    241
    39
    8
    4
See reviews for
162
476
72
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I were traveling in Italy for our 25th anniversary and spent the last few days of our trip at the Porto San Mamalo in Bologna. We had an absolutely wonderful time. The hotel is very much like having a friendly home in the city...excellent food, a warm friendly staff, and an owner/ manager who makes you feel like a member of the family. The rooms, lovely courtyard and indoor/ outdoor breakfast area were just beautiful, extremely well maintained, and my wife and I will long remember spending wonderful quiet hours on the terrace off of our room. Roberto (the owner), Elisa, and the rest of the staff went out of the way to help us find things of interest in Bologna (a lovely, interesting city), good food, and great values. The lovely bottle of wine for our anniversary was an extremely thoughtful complement to a great stay.

Overall, the Porto San Mamolo a spectacular small hotel, and a great travel value. Of course money can't buy kindness and a true joy of working with people like you find at the Porto San Mamolo. It's just their personality, and that of the hotel.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly if you have special interests or needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, General Manager at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Friend i agree with you 100%" money can't buy kindness and a true joy of working with people" this is our inspiration working with joy,this was what i told my employes many years ago if you love you job nothing will be havey and really they are doing that,i want to thank you very much for your great review and from me and my all staff
Best Regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We visited Bologna in June, and used it as a base to go to a wedding in Riccione and to visit Venice and Florence. We checked in and out 3 times, leaving most of our luggage at the hotel. Each time we returned we were welcomed back to the same room, with our luggage already placed in the room! It was as if we were home!
The hotel itself is lovely, well-appointed in its class, very peaceful, and well-located. We had a wonderful room, and slept well.
But what makes Porto San Mamolo truly special is the warm and sincere hospitality provided by Roberto and Elisa, and the rest of the dedicated staff at the hotel. We will always remember the diary and pen that Elisa and Monica generously gave to my 8-year old daughter to replace the ones she had sadly lost on the train after a week of recording her travel experiences.
Porto San Mamolo is a place to return again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, General Manager at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Friend
What can i say after such a nice review THANK YOU,Monica and Elisa toghether with my other staff are the hotel motor without them the hotel will be like a ferrari without gasoline .
Im Happy you enjoyed to stay with us and i do hope to see you again in Bologna .
My personal Grazie and Arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent 4 days in Bologna, and chose this hotel based on recommendations here in Tripadvisor. I can confirm sincerely all the good reviews here. This is a 3 star hotel so the rooms while nice are of ordinary size and extra amenities are not that many. But the difference here is the staff and the garden/breakfast area. The whole small complex is done in a loving fashion, everything works and no trouble is too much for the staff. During my stay I unfortunately needed some extra help with the local police and the manager accompinied me for translation and support. Here everything functions, and the location, while at edge of the centro storico, was actually perfect with several interesting routes to the centre and all the best restaurants that we visited were in this neighborhood (al Sangiovese, Osteria 15, Trattoria alla Santa, La Traviata). If i return to Bologna one day I will definitively choose this one again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, General Manager at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Friend From Finland
thank you very much for your god review,and for all your words regarding my staff and the hotel,it was a pleasure to help you when you were here and i think this is a "Must" when you are foreign that the hotel its at your completely disposal.
I do hope to see you in Bologna or maybe in Finland :)
Molte grazie e arrivederci
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The reviewers who rate this hotel as positive are 100% correct. Perfect little hotel whithin easy walk of the main tourist attractions. great little courtyard breakfast cafe, Nice clean AIR CONN rooms.
Would definitely recommend to anyone looking at visiting Bologna.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, General Manager at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Friend
Thanks for your nice comment really appreciate it,this year the weater its really hot in Bologna and without Air Co its impossible to sleep :) so im happy everything was fine with it.
My best regards
Roberto Condello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was the best hotel in our trip around Italy. The staff is the friendliest and their suggestions were perfect in every area. The room was spacious, very bright and airy, very tastefully decorated. The bathroom was really big and clean. Wi-fi worked well (not often the case elsewhere). Breakfast is served in a very pretty pavillion in what feels like "the hidden garden", really a great experience, again service was fantastic.
Will return for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, General Manager at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Friend
Really thanks for your nice Review hope to have you here again soon.
From me and my all staff
GRAZIE MILLE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night after two weeks in Tuscany. The staff are amazing!! So welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. We even had favourite gelaterias suggested for us!
We did have difficulty finding it, with some very tight corners. But once we arrived, it was worth the trouble. We even managed to have a late check-out without even asking, just because they realised that our flight was later in the day. This was invaluable as our three daughters managed to have a small rest before our flight home. We will be back and will recommend it to anyone planning a visit to Bologna!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, General Manager at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear friend
i love your title "service with smile"but with three daughters like yours its impossible not to smile they are so nice and always happy,i really take them in my memory :-)hope they learn the magician,really thanks or better Grazie because as i remeber you speak a good Italian .
Please say ciao to all the family and i hope to see you again in Bologna
Arrivederci
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Address: Vicolo Del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#5 Family Hotel in Bologna
#10 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porta San Mamolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.