We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added University Hotel to your Saves list
University Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mentana, 7, 40126 Bologna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Northampton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 via mobile

We were able to park nearby at not a huge expense, the hotel was nice enough, free wifi was good and staff were all friendly. The room was very big and perfectly nice considering how cheap it was although the shower wasn't great and the bathroom in general could do with a little work but it was what we needed and got what we paid for so were happy. Ideally would give it 3.5/5 but will have to make do with 3.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    65
    39
    6
    2
See reviews for
31
40
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad, Serbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

The hotel is at a good place, rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is okay. Staff is extremely gentle and ready to help any time. They recomended us some nice places to eat some good local food. Place is worth of money!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, West Yorks
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Booked as a 'bargain' option for one leg of a three cities tour of Italy this was by far the best quality.
Great, safe location in the historic centre, good room, clean and comfortable, friendly staff.
Only minus (which may be an issue for some) is that the staff have very limited English.
Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again if in Bologna or area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Great location, and if all you want is a clean dry bed, then this will pass muster. The shower is rather poor but seeing as we paid under £60 for 3, we can't complain. Anyone who moans on here is clearly asking for too much, if they want a better standard then pay for it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The hotel is supposedly a 3* but the hygiene and state of the rooms don't cut the mustard. Helpful guy on the desk just don't bother if you're looking for a romantic retreat. Also noisy with bar below room. Breakfast was ok staff were helpful and showed us how to work the coffee machine

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We needed a room for an overnight stay and this was ideal. All the basic amenities, clean and very helpful staff, within the University precinct, so quiet as it was during the break and parking was easy (€9 = 24 hrs). A good continental breakfast was included along with free wi fi.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainwright, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My son and I booked a twin room and were given a room with three beds. Our room was clean and well set up. Our bathroom was new and clean with amenities and was quite large. Air conditioning worked well. Our beds were comfortable there were extra pillows and blankets. Breakfast was good, with lots of variety. Desk staff were friendly and recommended a really great restaurant close by. Hotel is about a 5 - 10 min walk to Neptune Fountain in the centre of town. We booked through booking.com but I then communicated with the hotel directly for questions and confirmations which were always answered quickly and professionallly. If I go back to Bologna I would happily stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Hotel

Address: Via Mentana, 7, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — University Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato nel cuore della cultura Bolognese, a due passi dalla più antica università del mondo, a fianco del teatro comunale e della pinacoteca nazionale, l'Hotel University è un vero e proprio salotto in città per chi cerca un ambiente elegante e la calda atmosfera che solo le piccole strutture sanno dare.A piedi ed in pochi minuti è possibile raggiungere tutti i punti più interessanti della città: le due Torri, le chiese di Santo Stefano e San Francesco, Piazza Maggiore con i suoi palazzi Medievali e la Basilica di San Petronio.Il quartiere ospita numerosi ristoranti osterie e trattorie tipiche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your University Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.