We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bologna city break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B4 Bologna Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added B4 Bologna Tower to your Saves list
B4 Bologna Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lenin 43, 40138 Bologna, Italy (Savena)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 106 Hotels in Bologna
aberdeen, scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bologna city break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife loves Italy so we took the chance of a 6 day city break to Bologna, flights and hotel for £703 from Aberdeen Scotland, unfortuanately thro' CDG. The hotel was an €23 taxi ride from the airport and €9 to 14 from the Central (old) part of the city. Breakfast for two would have been €23 so we decided to shop at an adjacent supermarket, utilising money for the taxifares, coffee and excellent lunches in the city. ( Bus services were sparse) Apart from its relatively remote location, the Hotel's staff and the room we were given were really good, excellent wide bed, well appointed bathroom and very peaceful - however it appeared to be very underutilised and if you cared to look outside, covered in pigeon crap. We never used the restaurant, indeed the reception staff and a friendly Oz directed us to a nearby bar. Bologna is well posiioned for train trips to Venice and Verona (1hr30 at €40 for Prima class on the interregional trains, taxi fare €11-14 to the station) We know Florence and Milan fairly well so didn't bother going there. 5hrs in Venice were enough, far too many people doing what we were and I object to €14 for two very small beers which cost €3.75 in City centre Bologna. Verona is a cut above, no graffiti, friendly people and a truly excellent lunch (€64, gorgeous fillet steak/Italian savignon wine) 100mtrs east of the main square. Gripes - "e" ticketing which doesn't recognise pax names. Bubble gum chewing large American "adult" females ( I thought blowing bubbles was for kids?) and ofcourse the farce which is CDG.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    101
    56
    9
    24
See reviews for
21
35
11
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saonara, Italy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The hotel is very near to the motorway, or about ten minutes from the center by bus (few hundred meters from the hotel).
A taxi from the railway station to the hotel is about 20 euros.
The rooms are, clean (only a small stain in the carpet) , very modern, the bathroom is very spacious.
Free wifi is available in the lounge asking the reception for a one day password, not in the rooms.
A small negative point to the breakfast, a bit low on variety and quality of foods.
Nothing to comment about the staff.
There is a supermarket and a pizzeria on the other side of the street and a shopping center about 500 meters north.
You can have a discount for more than one night (at least at the time of this writing, October 2011), making this hotel a good choice, for sure the best I have stayed at in Bologna.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing East (entrance of the hotel) or you will hear in the morning noise coming from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The hotel is a good choice for travellers with a car (free parking in a garage), since it is nearly impossible to park in central Bologna (you need a special permit to enter). It is located at a motorway but it was not disturbing. You need 10 minutes by bus to the center by bus. The bus stop is only a 3-5 minutes walk away from the hotel. To me it seemed not to be the nicest neighbourhood in Bologna.

The rooms are excellent: very modern, spacious and clean with a great bathroom. Nice staff at the reception and nicely furnished breakfast room. Negative points would be the breakfast, which had little to offer, complicated internet access (you need an ethernet cable from the reception plus an username/password which has to be renewed daily), the hotel looks a little old-fashioned from the outside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

The room was my favorite part about the hotel. It was huge for European standards, brand new furniture, cozy bed and a huge bathroom with the deepest bathtub.

The pipes, however, were very loud all night, one needs earplugs to avoid being woken up constantly by them.

I ate at the restaurant more times than I'd like to admit. The lasagna, ravioli and spinach were all very good. The breakfast was ok, a bit low on variety. Cappucinos were made to order.

The hotel location is good, the bus stop to the old city is very close by, there's a huge supermarket across the street, there's a couple of restaurants nearby as well as a pharmacy.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kastoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Service and food was excellent, the style was beyond godlike and room was clear like nuclear outpost... Wish i had more days to spend there...

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

nice hotel , rooms newly renovated,very clean,modern,new lcd tv,5 star rooms.
service is good,food is good,staff are friendly.
location:10 min by taxi to the center city and bologna exhibition center.
facing the hotel huge supermarket where u can find anything
huge lobby area,the only problem is that they dont have business center ,so u should take your laptop with you bcz they have free wireless internet in the lobby.
in 5 - 6 months the hotel will be totally renovated and will be on of the best in bologna.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — business center
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

My Wife & our two year old daughter stayed at this miserable hotel in may 2008. Firstly the website photos are totally inaccurate as this hotel is beyond rundown & is currently under renovation. The so called Junior Suite we booked had jack hammers working above. The staff were indifferent to any request or need you had.
The so called Junior Suite, which I would not let my dog sleep in was furnished around 1950. After a twenty two hour flight we had a two hour argument with management who finally moved to a renovated room. Location is close to the freeway but that is all.

BEWARE DO NOT STAY HERE, ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE A WESTERNER.

  • Liked — LEAVING
  • Disliked — THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B4 Bologna Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B4 Bologna Tower

Address: Via Lenin 43, 40138 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Savena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — B4 Bologna Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your B4 Bologna Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b4 Bologna Tower Hotel Bologna
b4 Bologna Hotel
b4 Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B4 Bologna Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.