We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, clean and spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indipendenza Suite

Indipendenza Suite
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Indipendenza Suite to your Saves list
Indipendenza Suite
Via Indipendenza, 30, 40121 Bologna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 247 Bologna B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Central, clean and spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Bologna for a long weekend in September. Knowing next to the nothing about the city, our main requirement was to be central. We struck gold with Indipendenza Suite, which was less than a 10 minute walk away from the train station and 5 minutes from the main square. The b&b has a shared entrance with other businesses, but there is no buzzer. Under the name is the floor number and an Italian mobile number which you need to call for the owner to meet you and give you the keys. I'm always a little nervous about booking accommodation in the "old" part of town and worry that it might be dusty or tired or less secure, but everything was just fine. The b&b looks newly refurbished (all painted white) and was very clean. Our room was a double with an en suite, and we had plenty of room. Having a sofa and desk were nice extras. The locks on the bedroom door are the old style Italian multiple locks, and we felt very much at ease. Being in an old building, the window was huge and was lovely to look out of first thing in the morning. It's so lovely to have that much natural light. We didn't even have trouble with noise, despite being on such a central road. We could hear the odd scooter go by and usual evening movement, but it wasn't ever enough to keep us awake. Breakfast is a coffee/cappuccino and a croissant or pastry from a small bar down the road. Not huge but yummy and enough to set you up for the morning. I wasn't thrilled at first when I realised we had to leave the b&b to get our breakfast, but it's only across the road and it got us up out of bed, so looking back it suited us perfectly. Very good value for money. I would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Make sure you turn the water heater on before you take a shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
14
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HOUSTON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location and nice facilities. The name is deceiving as this is simiply a room in a building not a true bed and breakfast. Access to the building is controlled, the list of business have the Hotel name but there is no suite number or bell that you can ring to buzz you in. We managed to get into the buidling by tail gating another tenant but once we got to the room, there was no way to contact the owner or get in. Read the other reviews, you must make arrangement to meet the operator to get keys upon arrival in Bologna. Breakfast is a pastry and coffee at the coffe shop across the street. If you are looking for atmosphere and ambience then this is not the place, but if you are looking for nice clean facilities that are centrally located and reasonably price then this is a good option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalunya
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great location in central Bologna, a few minutes walking everywhere.
You have to phone the owner for the keys, there is no desk. Indications (floor and phone number) at the door of the building. Clean and comfortable rooms. One of the rooms has the toilet separate but it is private. Breakfast is a cappuccino or coffee and a pastry at a front pasticceria. Delicious but not generous. Very noisy street at night. You can hear the people from the restaurants below, buses and cars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Indipendenza is a really good option if you are visiting Bologna. It is very, very clean, quite spacious and comfortable. The guy who runs it, Marco, was extrememely helpful and texted me a few times before my arrival to give directions and then gave very good recommendations about good places to eat andd rink in.
The location is superb, about 5 minutes on foot from the main piazza and ten from the train station. Via Indipendeza is right in the heart of everything with lots of good eateries and a good buzz. The price you pay I suppose is that the street is busy with traffic so it can be a little noisy at rush hour in the morning, not the hotels fault though to be fair.
All told, I would be happy to recommend this place.

Room Tip: I think there is one room that does not face on to the main street, ask for this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwevegem, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Clean and tidy room, modern, airco, your completely on your own, so its like having an appartement in Bologna! Breakfast is nice and across the street! And the plus is the location, downtown centre Bologna, traffic free in the weekends! Nice owner helpfull if you have questions!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indipendenza Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indipendenza Suite

Address: Via Indipendenza, 30, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indipendenza Suite¨ situato nella via principale del centro storico di Bologna in un rinomato palazzo del '700 a soli 400 mt. dalla Stazione Centrale. il Bed and Breakfast e' stato appena ristrutturato con finiture di alto livello e propone ai suoi ospiti eleganti e confortevoli camere da letto, singole, matrimoniali e quadruple tutte provviste di bagno privato. Ogni suite¨ dotata di ogni comfort moderno: ampi e comodi letti, aria condizionata, tv schermo piatto a 32 pollici, frigo bar e connessione internet a banda larga gratuita. indipendenza suite¨ il posto ideale per trascorrere momenti indimenticabili nel cuore della citta di Bologna.Indipendenza Suit is located in the main street of the historic center of Bologna, in a famous palace of the 700 only 400 meters. from Central Station. Bed and Breakfast 'has just been renovated with high quality finishes and offers its guests elegant and comfortable bedrooms, single, double and quadruple rooms all with private bathroom. Each suite is equipped with all modern comforts: large, comfortable beds, air conditioning, 32-inch flat-screen TV, mini bar and wireless broadband internet access. Independence Suite is the ideal place to spend unforgettable moments in the heart of the city of Bologna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Indipendenza Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indipendenza Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.