We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Molto buono Indiano" - not influenced too much by the local preferences” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Moghul

Ristorante Moghul
Via dell'Inferno, 16, 40126 Bologna, Italy
+39 (0) 51232911
Improve this listing
Ranked #336 of 1,305 Restaurants in Bologna
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“"Molto buono Indiano" - not influenced too much by the local preferences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A stone's throw from the two towers, Moghul is a great choice if you want something different in Bologna.
While we were the only ones there mid week as part of the large group, service was fast and non-intrusive. The entrance hides a large dining room with nice detail on the table and furniture which promotes a good ambiance.

After some good samosa's, we were able to try 6-7 main dishes all of which were quite authentic though some could have had a little more spice and chilli. Moghul does do itself a disservice not promoting it's authentic tandoori oven as well as it's naan & roti breads. The menu would further be improved by the introduction of more types of proteins (chicken features too extensively) and making it explicit which dishes are vegetarian.

We didn't bother with coffee or desert (not that we could fit it anyway) but given the local gelato specialties, it's pretty hard for Moghul to compete on this front.

Would certainly go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    47
    23
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Satisfied my craving for Indian Food in Bologna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

After four weeks in Bologna, my husband and I were eager to break out of a pizza/pasta rut. Located in a little alley that's easy to overlook by the popular Via Zamboni student district, we were delighted to have lunch at this Indian restaurant on a sleepy Sunday. When we arrived, the waiter informed us that lunch wasn't quite ready it (it was 12:30) and seated us with some water. We used our limited Italian and agreed to have the "buffet" (although, I'm still not sure what it was). He eventually brought us three delicious plates - a grilled chicken kabob that has been marinated in a spicy mint sauce, a creamy and spicy vegetable maknihi, a comforting bowl of yellow dal lentils, and well as rice a basket of naan. It was all delicious and a welcome change of taste. In the end, it all felt like a real deal for total of only 20 euros, tip included.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Indian in Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you're looking for something different in Bologna and are a fan of spicy food, I would recommend Moghul. Though they are a tad bit pricey, the restaurant is clean and the food is quality. You really can't go wrong with the dishes, they are as traditional as you get get in Bologna, Italy.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“highlight in Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

this restaurant is located in the heart of the historic centre of bologna. we usually come here once to twice a year during the exhibition with friends or business partners and through the years the high quality of the food has not changed (northern Indian style) - prices are reasonable. the athmosphere is unique and all the decoration is authentic and well combined. only the service lacks a bit of attention, especially because the place is known amongst insiders and usually crowded. but overall a super choice for Indian food in this town and it is open every day for lunch and dinner. will be back for sure!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Moghul also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Ristorante Moghul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Moghul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.