We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best price/quality rate at the heart of bologna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Hotel to your Saves list
Paradise Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo Cattani 7, 40126 Bologna, Italy (San Vitale)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Izmir, Turkey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“best price/quality rate at the heart of bologna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

this is my second visit in this year and as i travelled alone, i stayed at the main building this time. do not expect a nice view or a luxury room. but for a reasonable price you wil get a very good location, very friendly and helpful staff. breakfast is weak but good. you can trust their suggestions for the places to eat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    211
    45
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
229
57
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The attention for the details is the main feature of this hotel: bedroom, bathroom and kitchen are rich of decorations, messages, small gifts, and useful stuff that you can usually find in elegant hotels (e.g. single use toothbrush and toothpaste, razor and aftershave, touristic guide etc).
Perfect location: Hotel Paradise is sited in a side street of Indipendenza Avenue, which leads to Piazza Maggiore.
Very warm welcome at the reception and very good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We loved our experience at the Paradise. Our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived late morning, and so we were treated to a cappuccino while we waited. The room was spacious, including the bathroom! Everything was comfortable and very clean. The street was quiet but so well situated to everything we wanted to see and do. We would definitely go back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor. Centrally located, 3 mins from piazza maggiore. Rooms were clean and colourful, with a large ensuite bathroom. Staff was very friendly and even kept our luggage after check out. Decent breakfast, with some healthy choices available. Great value for money. I would recommend it to anyone who visits bologna.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotels being generally expensive in Bologna I was happy to find the Hotel Paradise in a perfect location between the train station and the main square, Piazza Maggiore. You can walk everywhere in town from this location, including most restaurants. It has a quirky charm in that there was a small bag with a balloon on each bed and a riddle written on the small blackboard in the breakfast area each morning. Rooms and bathrooms clean and well furnished for this price level. The staff are welcoming and go out of their way to help you with reservations and recommendations for sightseeing and dinner. Two restaurants they recommended were among the best we tried in the city.

This hotel would have received a higher rating, even though it is not fancy, if not for two things. First, it was unusually warm in Bologna the third week in October and they had turned off the AC so the room was stuffy. Second, the room, on the first floor right above the reception was sometimes noisy during the middle of the night, not sure why--street noise, the night porter?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a nice place to stay. The staff was WONDERFUL! The room was clean. The location near the University of Bologna. Literally two steps from the hotel is a EXCELLENT restaurant to eat at, Trattoria Maraposa. The BEST food, (see review of restaurant). The hotel has a coffee machine at the front desk, so if you're looking for an espresso, they've got one waiting!

We took our laundry to the laundromat, and the power went out before it was dry! They gave us a drying hanger (?) to put all of our clothes on the dry them out! Very, Very, Very helpful staff!!

Room Tip: Eat next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Beautiful town, full of history, cosy hotel with very helpful and friendly staff, very clean and well decorated rooms, tasty and enough various breakfast. Hope we come back. In the middle of the road between the Central station and the center of the town, the hotel is very well located on a very special street named Vicolo Cattani.. The main building is full of good taste and the space is very well used, The walls are full with nice pictures and the lady from the reception well comes you with candies.It was very funny that every morning you have to find out the answer for a riddle (it was every day a new one) that was written on a very nice and small blackboard in the breakfast space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hotel

Address: Vicolo Cattani 7, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bologna
#14 Family Hotel in Bologna
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradise is more than a hotel: it's our house, open with love to our guests. In our rooms you will always find our warmth and passion. A ball of wool yarn will welcome you and bring you back to us every time you may return to Bologna. Our stories too... Will cradle you to a good nights' sleep, and upon the following morning you will rise to find our good humor any assistance ready to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.