We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels Excelsior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Starhotels Excelsior to your Saves list
Starhotels Excelsior
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pietramellara, 51, 40121 Bologna, Italy (Porto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

It is a great hotel with clean rooms and nice hotel stuff. the breakfast was real good, including the pastry they serve. Only problem is, it is a little bit far from the city center. But we took train to Florence and Venice, so it was very easy to get on the train. the train station is just across the hotel. But let me warn you that the rooms do not have any view of the city or something.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    393
    87
    20
    12
See reviews for
105
294
40
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Balzan, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Been there with my wife and son and his girlfriend. Had excellent rooms breakfast was good and the location could not be better. Central not far from airport bus station close and even the train station just across the road.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

For our 2 week stay in Italy we used trip advisor extensively and went for the high ranking properties only.
StarHotels Excelsior was fantastic.
We arrived around midnight and were welcomed by freindly staff who arranged parking next door they then got us into our beautiful room with its soft bed in no time at all .
The room was large and clean with a fantastic large bed.
Breakfast was the best we had in Italy and the rate was very cheap.
We would say here if ever back and we could not fault anything it was perfect .

Room Tip: The parking is just before the hotel if you miss it you have to go around pick a room up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

After checking out from the Internazionale Hotel(after one very sub standard day)it was a relief to be in a hotel that provides the service you would expect from its star rating.
The location is excellent being almost opposite the station. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious. The choice of food for breakfast was truly impressive. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to provide me with information about the city.
The only downside was the Wi Fi which was free only for the first 24 hours.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at the Starhotels Excelsior for 3 days/Nights last week and found the hotel to be very comfortable, clean and conveniently located right across the train station. When we arrived, we found that we had been upgraded to a junior suite! What a treat! We have never been upgraded before! Anyway, the room was large, very clean, with large bathroom. The breakfast buffet was the best I've experienced in Italy so far. There was a vast array of food to choose from; from a variety of deli meats and cheeses with fresh bread; to eggs and bacon; cereals; to an array of amazing cakes and sweets. My favourite was the croissants/cornetti; they literally melt in your mouth; best croissants/cornetti in Italy for sure. This was a lovely hotel, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone going to Bologna for business or vacation. The train station is just across the road. Bologna is a great base city to stay in also if you want to take day trips using the train to different Italian cities. Also, the hotel is 5 minutes walking distance is to great shops and probably 15 minutes to the downtown historic centre and Piazza Maggiore.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I had to make a nonscheduled night stop in Bologna and I've booked it just minutes prior to the arrival. I was infact upgraded to a Junior suite not very large but very comfortable and well furnished. What a pitty it was only for one night. I was worried about not having enough time to have my breakfast in the morning but though the service it was scheduled to begin at 7am, the breakfast staff let me and some other guests in some 15 minutes earlier, so I was able to really enjoy the nice buffet breakfast. So, it was great! as every hotel stay should be anytime.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Returned to the Excelsior for a second 5 day stay. We were given a room which had been refurbished to a very good standard. Lovely and clean with wooden flooring and good bathroom freebies. Safe wouldn'tt work on arrival but was dealt with immediately. Breakfast again was excellent with something for everyone. The hotel was full but the service was prompt, efficient and done with a smile. Of course we will go back again next year.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have been refurbished and no grotty carpets in room 205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhotels Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Excelsior

Address: Pietramellara, 51, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#10 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#16 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starhotels Excelsior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Excelsior in Bologna. In this beautiful ancient University city, our contemporary chic hotel is considered to be one of the best. The location opposite the railway station is conveniently close to the Fiera as well as the historical heart. Our Italian style is an alluring combination of clean, fresh interiors throughout the lobby, library and restaurant, and cosy traditional bedrooms.In our city centre Bologna hotel there are 193 rooms and suites; a well-equipped fitness room; lounge and bar for relaxing, Avorio restaurant serving traditional Bolognese food; and five meeting rooms seating up to 380 delegates in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Starhotels Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Excelsior Hotel Bologna
Starhotels Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.