We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“look no further for a great hotel when visiting bologna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Starhotels Excelsior to your Saves list
Starhotels Excelsior
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pietramellara, 51, 40121 Bologna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 106 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“look no further for a great hotel when visiting bologna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

great hotel,clean rooms, well situated to city and station.great value for money.staff were helpful and nothing to much trouble.the breakfast was good.all areas of the hotel were clean and the rooms were a good size.you have to pay for internet use but be honest we did not use it as it was a break from business.my wife and i felt welcome and i would not hesitate to use the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    428
    93
    23
    16
See reviews for
111
330
42
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A very nice contemporary hotel in this great & beautiful city of Bologna famous as grossa & rossa.The Hotel is located opposite the central station of the city which is a very convenient location when visiting Bologna by car.The Hotel has it's own parking place & from Excelsior 10 to 15 minutes walking is needed to reach centro storico!The rooms & bathrooms are spacious & clean having all the toiletry accessories!The double glaze windows are amazing as we had a room on the front & thought it would be noisy,we never heard any of the street bustle.The interiors of the hotel such as the lobby,the library & the bar are nicely decorated,bright & luminous because of the big windows around.Good spots to read,to have your capuccino,hot & cold drinks r througout the day or before going out.Wi-Fi access is available but free only in public areas.We think internet needs to be free in the rooms too.The staff is efficient,friendly & willing to give you information.The breakfast is good but we would prefer it with more of italian scent!A hotel in the center of Bologna who has the best of the italian food has to have an italian colazione. It is a really good hotel & Bologna one of the most beautiful cities of the world.We have visited this Hotel twice & we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The main benefit of this hotel is that its located across the trainstation, anything else is just moderate compared to its high price tag.

The rooms r decent and clean but need a refurbishment, as the design looks quite dated. The staff is friendly but a little reserved. I wouldnt recommend the breakfast; its way too overpriced for what u get.

Overall a decent place but not a first choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

chose this hotel because of trip adviser recommendations not disappointed. Staff friendly and being close to station and airport bus excellent. Easy walk to main attractions. Bologna tour bus stops at the Ice Cream shop along from hotel. Ristorante Bolognese also round the corner and worth a visit

Room Tip: We were on 7th floor looking at the back heard nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The location is perfect: just opposite to the train station where the airport bus also stops and just a short walk to the historic center of Bologna.

We got a very nice, well cleaned room on the 5:th floor facing the street. At first we were a bit suspicious that there would be a lot of noise from the street but the sound proofing was very good so there were no disturbances at all.

The breakfast was also very good with plenty to choose from. The staff was friendly and efficient, both at the reception and in the breakfast room.

Definitely the first hotel I will check for vacancies if I travel to Bologna again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We flew with BA short breaks. We chose the hotel as it was central and the airport bus drops you off within 50 yds of the Hotel. Also being near the train station we found it very easy to travel to Ferrara, just a half hour away. Well worth a visit! Hotelwise, it was very comfortable, very good breakfast to set you up for the day. Being near the station meant ther were a lot of buisness people there. Not a problem.I think if we had to choose between Bologna or Ferrara we would go for the latter. I must say the BA part of the trip was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

What a find this hotel was and is. Just across the road from one of the busiest train stations in Italy yet very quiet.. if you ask for a room at the rear of the hotel. We had an executive suite which was quite large with full bathroom,safe, tea & coffee and mini fridge. Although a large and at times impersonal Hotel the breakfast staff were very helpful. Special thanks to Giovanna
who went out of her way to be of assistance. Many thanks.
For those wishing to travel around italy by rail this Hotel is very convenient and well run, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhotels Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Excelsior

Address: Pietramellara, 51, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#12 Family Hotel in Bologna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#19 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starhotels Excelsior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Excelsior in Bologna. In this beautiful ancient University city, our contemporary chic hotel is considered to be one of the best. The location opposite the railway station is conveniently close to the Fiera as well as the historical heart. Our Italian style is an alluring combination of clean, fresh interiors throughout the lobby, library and restaurant, and cosy traditional bedrooms.In our city centre Bologna hotel there are 193 rooms and suites; a well-equipped fitness room; lounge and bar for relaxing, Avorio restaurant serving traditional Bolognese food; and five meeting rooms seating up to 380 delegates in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Starhotels Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Excelsior Hotel Bologna
Starhotels Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.