We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh where to begin…” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN City Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ambrogio Magenta 10, 40128 Bologna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #36 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Oh where to begin…”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Oh where to begin… I received my new Best Western Rewards Card so I booked a three night stay at the Bologna (Italy) Best Western, when I showed my card so I could get my points... their response was I could not get points because of the way I booked the room…??? Now, how am I supposed to know, (as the customer), what is the right way or wrong way to book a Best Western room??? This was the first AND last time I try and use my Best Western Rewards Card,…. I cut it up,… NO more Best Westerns for me. The room temperature was very hot because the AC hardly worked, the restaurant was so-so. (we should have known something was up when we were the only people in the place) Also, there are NO nearby restaurants. There was a German motorcycle gang staying there. The motorcycles woke me up in the morning. You know what they say… loud motorcycle- small…. And ABOVE ALL, the service was terrible in every aspect. Every question I asked was answered with sarcasm. As a tourist, they offered no help or advice about local attractions. When I asked for a fan because the AC was barely working they snickered and said “NO FAN”. The neighborhood is marginal at best. Over all, a bad experience… and they simply didn’t care if it was good or bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    170
    62
    16
    4
See reviews for
50
110
22
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Easy directions to find by car and a lots of free car-parking. Free internet. Our room was small but adequate (all reflective in the price you pay) Very clean. We had dinner in the restaurant (outside as it was a lovely warm night). Food nothing fancy but we both enjoyed our meals. Breakfast also was included in our rate which was pretty good.
The walk to the city centre was an easy 25 minute journey and we were allowed to leave our car in the car park on the day we were leaving to go into town.
Very friendly and helpful reception staff who spoke good English.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Beware of your reservation at this hotel during peak times (exhibitions, fairs...). In January of 2012, we booked 3 rooms for 2 nights (at E49/room/night) for a visit in September 2012. When we arrived at the hotel on Sept 23, we learned that ALL our room reservations had been cancelled! We were told that there was only one room available that night and that the rate was E350 due to there being a Ceramics Exhibition in town. After many frantic phone calls, we were able to find 3 hotel rooms in Bologna for E269/room/night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed for 1 night with friends. Very nice hotel, welcoming and modern. The room was comfortable, clean and seemed "recent" with everything in very good shape. The breakfast is very nice too. One only problem : you need to take a bus or walk about 30 minutes to get to the historical center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family of 4 (2 teenagers) spend one week as the base for travel around northern Italy.
Good clean hotel, good food, reasonable price and good service. Has free parking and internet.
2 size rooms, so make sure you get the larger one.
Beds and pillows are rather hard
One major problem is location, as it is about 1.2 km walk to the edge of the city. One option is to drive to the city and park in the council car park on the edge of the shopping district.
if you like coffee, make sure you ask for one at breakfast, outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Within walking distance (550m) from Bologna central station. Clean and comfortable hotel, the bathroom was a little small but this seems customary in Italian hotels. Varied buffet breakfast with some hot options.Good value for money.
TIP: Dont bother with the airport shuttle bus from central station at 6 Euro's, the hotel will arrange a taxi for you for approx 15 euros.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

A bit of a walk into the main area of the city but this is a goo hotel. Nice comfortable rooms and spotlessly clean. Breakfastis the usual continental and not to my taste but that is my problem not the hotel's. a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN City Hotel

Address: Via Ambrogio Magenta 10, 40128 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#25 Business Hotel in Bologna
#25 Family Hotel in Bologna
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.