We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up there with the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Indipendenza 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 105 Hotels in Bologna
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Up there with the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Top rate;one of the best medium sized city centre hotels we have stayed in. It really can't be faulted. Lovely restaurant ,though quite expensive. Breakfast selection interesting and varied. There are a number of areas in which to sit ,eat or just relax,three of which are al fresco,which is more than welcome in the height of summer.Staff quite clearly well trained and are attentive yet unobtrusive.Not the cheapest hotel in Bologna by a long way but good value nonetheless

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni" and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Sincerely
Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    90
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
217
20
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very comfortable room, lovely bathroom with excellent bathroom supplies. Hotel staff very well-trained, friendly and responsive. Room service food very good as was restaurant and bar food. Hotel location is perfect for walking around Bologna which has the most beautiful buildings. All in all an outstanding short stay. Also good speed free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. I gave a presentation to a workshop meeting one morning and the staff were excellent with technical support - not always the case even in the largest hotel. I recommend this hotel very highly and I stay in a lot of 5* hotels.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor. It had no view but I didn't mind because I prefer quiet rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review.

It doesn't happen every day to stay in an historical building just a few steps from the main square and important mouments of the city.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future!
kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent three days at the Grand Majestic in Bologna. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms very comfortable. Great beds, lovely baths, and beautiful appointments. The staff is extremely helpful with reservations for trains, restaurants, taxis, tc. The breakfast buffet is superb - running he gamut from European to full English and American breakfast selections. The patio is a lovely place in the morning. The hotel is well located in the historic center within walking distance of just about everything. The staff is multilingual.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review.
We are also happy to receive your compliments about our rich and well stocked buffet breakfast!

Look forward to welcoming you soon.
kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a grand, old exquisit hotel. Formally a monastery, the hotel is located in the heart of Bologna and you can walk to many of the sites in the city. The rooms are so elegant and beautifully decorated that the only way to describe the feel is Over the Top Elegance. Rooms are warm and have all of the amenities that one would expect of a five star hotel. Hallways between the lobby, restaurant and suites are decorated with fine art and statues. The concierge is excellent and well versed about the city, things to do and places to eat. The restaurant is as elegant as the building. We both enjoyed a quite meal wonderfully prepared and served. Even the luggage closet is behind a beautifully crafted door. All this comes with a price though so be prepared to put a dent in your wallet. Nevertheless, we so enjoyed the hotel that it was worth the money. Don't worry about taking a room key home with you, they are large and can become an annoyance. We haven't submitted many photos of the places we've been but thought that the best way to describe the elegance is to include a photo of our suite.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, back away from the lobby so it was very quiet, but it appeared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review so detailed about our Historic Building! According to this we take the occasion to inform you that we have just entered the Association of Historical Establishment of Italy.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future!
kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel has it all -- great location, elegance, and fabulous staff! Our stay could not have been more perfect. Although our room was located on the street which is busy it was very quiet. The breakfast is lovely and the morning staff cheery and helpful. Shanti, the bar manager, speaks fluent English and makes you feel as if you have your own personal butler serving your drinks. Although I realize this hotel is not in everyone's price range I must say you are not short changed for what you are paying!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review.

We are really glad to read that enjoyed your stay and also our breakfast and lounge Bar!
We will report to Shanti your words!

Thankl you again and we do look forward to welcoming you again soon!

kind regards,
Tiberio Biondi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Dear Sirs,

I just wanted to make you aware of the wonderful stay I had with my wife in the Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni in Bologna (Italy). It was certainly one of the most pleasant stays I have ever had in a city hotel and I want to recognize that all the service, end to end, was absolutely excellent. We spent a weekend in the hotel and everything went extraordinary well, from reservation to check out.

I would like to congratulate all the staff and management of the hotel for the excellent service we enjoyed at the Gia Baglioni.

Best regards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review.

We are really glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that you appreciated our services!

We really suggest you next time to enjoy our recent Wellness centre or to take a cocktail to our recent renewed Lounge Bar.
Looking forward to welcoming you in the future!
kind regards,
Tiberio Biondi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel! Impeccable service and in a great downtown location. Would definitely stay there again.

Only thing to keep in mind - is that it can be very confusing getting there by car!! Our company organised a meeting for a group of approximately 40. Many of the guests who drove, arrived very late because, although the map provided by the hotel was correct - the city centre being closed to traffic and the map requiring you to drive in bus lanes etc. created great confusion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your visit to Bologna and many thanks for your kind review.
It doesn't happen every day to stay in an historical building just a few steps from the main square of the city.
Of course, as in the most relevant European Cities, which like to preserve the Historical Architecture, Bologna has a very strict rules related to the traffic in the downtown and we are just in the heart of the city.
According to this we take the occasion to inform you that we have just entered the Association of Historical Establishment of Italy and we are very lucky to be reachable by car even though it is very difficult in driving.
We are relly sorry about the inconvinience and look forward to welcoming you in the future!
kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni

Address: Via Indipendenza 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bologna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#2 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Classically styled Hotel in historic building near palaces, churches & museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.