We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but a bit tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Bologna Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Bologna Centro to your Saves list
Mercure Bologna Centro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Pietramellara 59, 40121 Bologna, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 106 Hotels in Bologna
Rookhope
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location, but a bit tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the end of September having previously stayed in 2009. We felt not much had changed in the three years, and whilst staff are very helpful the hotel is a little tired and therefore expensive for what it delivers. The location opposite the railway station is worth the price for us and the short walk into the centre of the town equally useful.

We did not find that the rooms were dirty but the decor was scruffy. We dined out for everything because in essence this is a commercial hotel (and indeed was full for a commercial fair when we'd wanted to stay before returning to the UK) and therefore for people with an expense account - not money conscious travellers!!

All this being said, we'd stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook a small park, whereas rooms at the side look onto an adjacent building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    514
    317
    90
    51
See reviews for
139
425
150
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Chose this hotel for proximity to train station as a base for day trips. Staff and service was acceptable but room cleanliness was not very good, returning every evening it looked like only the bed had been made and the towels changed. We could wipe the dust off of the furniture and the bathroom had hairs from previous occupants on the floor. Our room was of an average size and towards the rear of the building so limited the noise from the train station. Be aware Bologna now has a tourist tax and you will be charged a varying rate, per person, per night for your stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked through lastminute.com but got treated like every other customer (they were aware that we'd booked this way). Staff were friendly, helpful and very polite. Hotel was well maintained and room was well equipped, spacious & clean, with a view of the terrace balcony from the large window. You do actually step out of the hotel, cross the road and you are in the main train & bus station at Bologna. Fairly central to Bologna itself too. We're planning going back, enough said.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This former Sofitel retains much of the character and charm of Accor's luxury brand. Without exception, we found the staff charming and very helpful.
The hotel is situated by the railway station and is a good walk from the city centre but very frequent buses take you to all parts of the city centre. Rooms are spacious and well appointed.
The garden at the rear of the hotel provides a peaceful 'oasis' away from the bustle of the city.

Room Tip: 'Preference' rooms are at the back of the hotel and are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed in the hotel Mercure Bologna Centro - which is right across the train station and the bus terminus, making travel to other places and cities that much easier - for five nights. For a twin room, we had to pay 330 euros. True, August is the low period for the tourist industry in Italy, so in other months a twin room, or any other for that matter, would have been more expensive. But at this price, our stay was a steal - at a higher price, I should imagine that it would have been equally worthwhile.

The reception staff all speak English and are very corteous, and were ready to offer suggestions and the like; the free breakfast buffet that was included in our package was small but tasty and energising - as all breakfasts should be; the hotel also has a relatively big garden in which you can either take your breakfast, stroll around, or alternatively take a drink from the hotel bar in the lobby, which is run by a wonderful gentleman called Luciano, who makes that pre-dinner or after-dinner drink that much more enjoyable - his cocktails all tasted good, and he always offered us some appetisers in the form of black olives and nachos, and then parmesean and mortadella; the chambermaids were also very helpful when we required any further toiletries.

The hotel itself is aesthetically very pleasing both on the outside and on the inside. The rooms, if a bit old, were very spacious and comfortable, with the bath being a particular highlight.

An odd feature of this hotel is that they still use room keys instead of the usual room card which I would have preferred to have. But that is only a minor complaint.

Overall, this was the best hotel that I've ever stayed in. I do not know how much more expensive it is in the more touristy months, but it is certainly a hotel that I would go to again if I am in Bologna, regardless of the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Service at the hotel was great; every member of the staff was helpful and friendly.

Value for money is excellent, considering the good location and great, spacious rooms.

The room and the hotel in general was spotless.

There isn't a restaurant at the hotel, although there are some great ones nearby. However, there is a bar which we found great for drinks before and after evening meals. The barman was particularly professional at what he does, as well as friendly.

If you're not into walking, you might find the walk to the main square a tad too long.

Room Tip: The higher up the room, the better; our's was on the 6th floor, so vehicular noises were no prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was close to the railway station and we arrived late evening. We stayed 3 nights there. The location is very noisy and the streets are not the cleanest ones in Bologna. However, the windows did not let the noise into our room and we had a good sleep every night.
The room was OK, maybe the walls can be more frequently re-painted.
The staff was nice and very helpful. The breakfast was good, it was worth the money.
For families with children the most beneficial feature is the garden. There is a playground inside and a few benches, statues, etc. We did not find any other playground in Bologna so it was a pleasure to have one in the hotel garden.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Bologna Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bologna Centro

Address: Viale Pietramellara 59, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bologna Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Bologna Centro boasts a strategic location opposite the train station, just 1.9 Miles (3 km) from the exhibition center and at the gateway to the historic center, making it ideal for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has 244 rooms with all the modern comforts, 5 naturally-lit modular meeting rooms and a private park spanning 53,820 sq. Ft. (5000 M²). Free WIFI throughout the hotel. Private car park with direct access to the hotel. Small sized pets allowded with daily supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Bologna Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bologna Centro Hotel Bologna
Accor Bologna Centro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Bologna Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.