We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Le Stanze del Carro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Stanze del Carro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Stanze del Carro to your Saves list
Le Stanze del Carro
Via del Carro 11, 40126 Bologna, Italy (San Vitale)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 237 Bologna B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay at Le Stanze del Carro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This B&B is wonderful and quaint and right in the middle of Bologna!! Breakfast was served outside on a beautiful inner courtyard area and the staff was so wonderful. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone and intend on staying there again when I return to Bologna

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosadillo, Manager at Le Stanze del Carro, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travelers. We really appreciate your great feedback. You are always welcome at Le Stanze del Carro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
24
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Our stay here was Ok but not outstanding. It is in a really central (but not noisy) location in a medieval quarter very near the Piazza Maggiore and the rest of the beautiful and lively centre of Bologna. There is a very good choice of restaurants nearby. It is clean, the breakfast is good and the young woman who looks after the property (who is not the owner) is very friendly and helpful. I guess for us the shine was taken off by a lack of attention to detail: there were no towels in our room, when we asked we were provided with what amounted to large tea-towels; the beds are very low and not particularly comfortable; the 'private' bathroom is down a corridor past the breakfast room, and on one occasion we returned to find the owner was allowing a crowd of people attending an event downstairs to use it; and had removed all the seating from the roof terrace for the same event. All of this could be sorted very easily, and then one could rate the property much more highly.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom is en suite, or at least adjacent and genuinely private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosadillo, Manager at Le Stanze del Carro, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. It is really important for us to know your opinion and to share it with others.
We apologize for the inconveniences we created having the event downstairs on the shop. It was the first time when the owner had those kinds of design presentations. She had not had such an experience before. That's why she was not attentive enough and took the cheers and opened a bathroom for others. Frankly, she was a bit nervous and not attentive at that moment. She really apologizes. We believe it will never happen again.

We have bought new comfortable beds.
We hope to see you again. There are still many places you have not explored yet in Bologna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed in the suite for 2 nights, sampling the delights of Bologna.

The hosts are very helpful and provided us with a lot of local knowledge on arrival. The central location of the Guest House was fantastic as everything in the city is on your door step, including some great bars and restaurants. The university area is just to the north east, whilst the main square, Piazza Maggiore is just 5 mins walk away. Whilst the guest house was in the centre of the city, it was quite overnight, even on a public holiday!

The room was clean and well presented with lovely antique furtniture. The breakfast was simple, tasty and plentiful and the use of the kettle for drinks during the day was very useful. Free wifi was great for helping us plan our days out.

The only minor downside is that the suite is not completely self-contained. The bathroom is accessed down a private corridor, however only stable doors seperate this from the rest of the property and it would be better/more secluded if it was a full height door.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosadillo, Responsabile reception at Le Stanze del Carro, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We apologize to reply you so late.

We are so happy that you enjoyed architectural sightseeing, gastronomical specialties of Bologna and staying at Le Stanze del Carro.

Right a little while after your stay we made curtains on the door to the corridor of the suite. And now the corridor is completely private.

Thank you again for your time and advices! We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Stanze del Carro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Stanze del Carro

Address: Via del Carro 11, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Stanze del Carro is an elegant guest house in Bologna. It is located in the heart of the medieval center of Bologna, from where you can easily reach the highlights of Bologna by foot. Being a small guesthouse it offers us, Catherine, Olga and Francesca, a special opportunity: we can take good care of each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Stanze del Carro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Stanze del Carro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.