We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice outdoor seating, good service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CaffeZamboni

CaffeZamboni
Via zamboni, 6, 40126 Bologna, Italy
051 273102
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #717 of 1,306 Restaurants in Bologna
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Continental, Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Zamboni Cafè means : breakfast, brunch, aperitif, dinner and afterdinner.Located in the old town centre, under the TWO TOWERS, at the beginning of the university area, our cafè has always been one of the most important benchmarks in Bologna.We are always open , 365 days a year.:We start at 6.30 with refreshments and breakfast, hot brioches only just taken out of the oven and confectionery made on our premises.The warm welcome and the professionalism of our staff will assure you a good day start.For a fast or slow lunch we’ll wait you alone or in someone’s company: if you don’t have so much time we offer buffet brunch from 12 to 15.The most glamouros aperitif every evening from 18 with a rich and tasty buffet, together with cocktails prepared by the best barmen in Bologna All our rooms are available for a pleasant relax or for events, coffee breaks, graduation parties, company meetings.We can offer you a free sevice of Hot Spot Wi.fi and the vision on our five maxi screens of the best sports Sky events.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor seating, good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The waitress spoke good English. We ordered at the counter, selected out croissants, and she also came to our table. The outdoor seating is nice. There are white booth/benches with the big umbrellas over top. It's nice and shady in the heat. You can also gaze out across the street at the interesting architecture that encircles bologna in a medieval mood.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    93
    74
    35
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Come early as the place fills up quickly!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

On our first day in Bologna we had seen this place on the way to our dinner so we decided to pass the day after. From 18:30 - 20:00 you can have an aperitivo for 8 Euros which includes one drink and buffet of about 15 different dishes. The drink we had was generous and the food was great – especially the fresh cucumber salad! Good if you are looking for early dinner. Come early as the place fills up quickly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“cool bar scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Zamboni is doing something that's very cool. 8 euros buys you your first drink and entry to their buffet. Kind of an Italian verson of tapas......Needless to say it was very crowded but the buffet was never neglected by the staff. This thing kicks off at 18:30 and we left at around 23:00 and it was still going strong. Fun evening........

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Unbelievable bar snacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We enjoyed several great cocktails at this extremely busy bar, which is obviously very popular with the local students - and I can see why - for one euro on top of our drink price we had access to the bar snacks which were extraordinary! At many similar bars they are just a few bowls of chips and some pizza etc, but here there were several trestle tables piled high with salads, hot chips, bread, dips, hot and cold meats and all manner of other things. Definitely good value, you could make a meal out of it easily if you were so inclined. Great atmosphere, but probably head elsewhere if you are looking for a quiet drink!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Caffe Zamboni”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I've been here perhaps a half-dozen times, and the service has generally been indifferent. But the last time the server was so bored - she dropped my plate on the table as if she were feeding a dog. Never once did she speak a word to me. Thanks but no thanks to any further visits.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CaffeZamboni also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to CaffeZamboni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CaffeZamboni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.