We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable, pretty, welcoming B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Munay

Casa Munay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Munay to your Saves list
Casa Munay
Via Venturoli Angelo, 3, 40138 Bologna, Italy (San Vitale)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 237 Bologna B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very comfortable, pretty, welcoming B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We (a party of 5 in 3 rooms) stayed here for 2 days over New Year's Eve and had a FANTASTIC stay. The B&B is well located, a 10-15 minute walk from the center of town with its gorgeous piazza (where we enjoyed the new year's eve festivities). The rooms are small and simply furnished but perfectly comfortable and actually quite elegant (there is nothing cheap or tacky about this place), and they are supplemented by several very pleasant public spaces: a sitting room with couches and a spacious and comfortable dining room, where we had dinner both nights (full-scale cooking is not allowed but we brought in dinner and there is a microwave available for reheating). These spaces are in addition to the downstairs breakfast room, which is right off the garden. Breakfast was far and away the best I've ever had in an Italian hotel, with delectable cakes and pastries, everything homemade, even the jam (from the fig trees in the garden!). Our host was very helpful and made us feel "at home," and we certainly made ourselves at home! The only negative thing I can think of to say is that the coffee at breakfast doesn't measure up to the pastries—it's OK but nothing special. All in all, this a great place, and we will certainly stay here again if we return to Bologna.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 rooms; all were pretty equally comfortable, though the single room facing the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamunay, Proprietario at Casa Munay, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie di aver soggiornato nella mia casa e grazie della recensione. Siete state ospiti meravigliose con grande rispetto per la mia casa e questo lo ho apprezzato moltissimo. Spero proprio di rivedervi, magari d'estate, così potete godere anche del nostro bellissimo giardino fiorito e inoltre voremmo offrirvi un caffè non solo buono ma eccellente. Grazie ancora
Beatrice e Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    23
    6
    1
    11
See reviews for
28
14
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have booked the Casa Munay for a business trip. This B&B seemed to be a very cozy and clean place but I have never had the chance to actually see the room…...
Basically this is what happened. I landed at 8 PM in the evening and asked a taxi to drop me off at this B&B. Once in front of the gate I rang the bell. Nobody responded, after a couple of seconds I rang again. Suddenly the gate opened without anybody saying anything. Walking up the building a couple of guest left the building and closed the door behind them. I greeted them and rang at the door (No indication "reception" on the bell). Nobody opened after ringing a couple of times, without any answer, I decided to call the hotel. The call was answered by a person not speaking any other language than Italian. I understood a couple mainly he said he will be at the hotel in 5 minutes. A car arrived, a guy came out and opened the gate and came up to me. Without greeting he immediately asked me with a very aggressive tone how I was able to get through the gate without authorization!!!???
I told him guests opened the door and I tried to show him my reservation. He did not care and asked again how I got inside. I felt like a burglar.
He threatened me throwing me out of the premises. I was baffled and did not understand what was happening to me. Not responding he almost ran up to me yelling he will call the police! I understood this was completely turning bad I went out.
I stood on the sidewalk in front of the hotel trying to find another hotel for my stay in Bologna. Suddenly he came out yelled at me that I could not stay in front of the hotel, called me names and threatened me physically.
Basically I advise you never to think about staying in this hotel. I will probably fine an official complaint through our consulate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I chose this hotel because of the reviews but my experience has been entirely different.
I asked for a quiet room as I was visiting my brother in hospital and knew I needed to rest. I was allocated a room off reception. I wondered at the time if this would indeed be quiet if guests were coming and going and was assured that I was the last to book in that day, so yes, it would be quiet. Pleasant enough room. There was a confusion about my booking and I was told that in order to get the deal I had paid for, I would have to tell the booking company I'd not stayed there.
I arrived back to sleep around 9.15 ish. A couple was just booking in and I could hear very clearly from my room through the walls, not quiet atall. I came out to ask if there was any chance I could change room as this wansn't going to be quiet enough to rest. The landlord replied in Italian and his tone was angry, dismissive and unhelpful. I stayed as he took his time to book in the other couple and again said please could we sort this out. He got angry and tried to push past me. I stood in his way, trying to get him to reason with me. He poked me in the chest and made 'go away' motions. I felt scared and returned to my room. I speak no Italian.
I decided to try to sleep and got into bed.
10mts later, I hear footsteps and someone tried a key in my lock and then banged on the wall several times. I opened the door and saw the landlord who said - police, go now - I was getting very scared and tried asking for money back. Landlord started to ignore me. I really didn't know what to do. I had no reason to fear the police but all I wanted was to rest having been up since 1o'clock that morning and was concerned that the police may not speak English.
I again went into my room. This time I packed my suitcase and decided to leave. I couldn't get out of reception as the landlord had turned a sort of lock on the door that I couldn't work out how to open.
I returned to my room.
Footsteps, more heavy banging on floor and door and lock tried again.
The electricity then went off..and came back on again. More banging.
I came out again. There was the landlord and a young man. He said hello in a tone that sounded like he spoke some English. I asked if he did but before he could answer, the landlord said sharply something to him and he didn't speak to me.
I decide to leave again.
Noone in reception this time but door/window? behind reception wide open - my room on the ground floor.
I finally work out how to open reception door and I leave the hotel.
I am shaking just writing this.
I give the hotel one star for room and cleanliness but I still remain greatly shaken and traumatised by this experience and have yet to have a good night's sleep.
The hotel I booked into up the road -= Hotel Bologna - was perhaps not so smart but at least I felt safe and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Such a relief.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Nice and pleasant place, well decorated and comfortable rooms, nice garden behind the house. Convinient bus connections to the city center. Not very good at speking english but very friendly people. I Recommend this place !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The room was large and the bathroom had all the modern amenities. The place is well decorated and the breakfast was great. Important tip: Make sure to arrive before 20h. We mistakenly arrived later and the owner wanted to cancel our reservation. In the end we were able to stay but it was close.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

This little B&B is absolutely beautiful. The house is furnished very tastefully, and light pours in through the large windows. Everything seems new and is very clean.

We had a private bathroom outside the room. I think some rooms had bathrooms inside the room, which I would have preferred, but our setup wasn't too inconvenient.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

The location is not that great---at least a mile from the town center. We were there without a car, so that was a bit of a problem, although we probably could have taken the bus. If I had it all to do over again, I would spend most of my time in the B&B anyway, relaxing and enjoying the peaceful environment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

It felt more like a home than a hostel/hotel. It is a very well furbished big house (well, the size of it actually makes it more like a castle)and the bathroom/toilet is very clean. Every thing there made me feel very relaxed and comfortable. The breakfast they serve in the morning is almost a surprise! There were different kinds of coffee and tea and the pastries were simply superb. The fruits were fresh and very natural. Wonderful place that I would love to stay at again!

Room Tip: Any room would be good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Munay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munay

Address: Via Venturoli Angelo, 3, 40138 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Munay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Munay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.