We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RESTAURANT DONATELLO

RESTAURANT DONATELLO
Via Augusto Righi, 8, 40126 Bologna, Italy
+39 051 235 438
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,201 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Very popular
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Beautifully designed room very traditional. The food was beautiful and the service excellent. One of the best meals I have ever had and would definately recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    257
    56
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, very nice owners, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We ate here as part of a very large group (over 20) and we impressed by how well the owners served us. Since we ordered a set menu I can't speak to individual dishes so well, but the food that they gave us was a decent standard, the room was lovely, high ceilings, a lot of space and decorated in the traditional way with many photos of famous patrons hanging around the walls. We enjoyed the meal immensely and really appreciated the owners trying to accomodate our different demands (e.g. Table rearrangement, vegetarian requests etc)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Best meal of our five days in Bologna. As a group of ten our hotel booked ahead for us and everything about it was exceptional and at very reasonable prices. Ambience superb, surroundings interesting [every wall covered in photos of personalities who have dined there].
Two things to be aware of - it is NOT connected with the nearby Hotel Donatello, and it makes sufficient money during the week to be closed on Saturdays and Sundays.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Classic Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Tortellini in brodo and Tagliatelle ai funghi were exceptional. With a bottle of wine (18 Euro) the total for the dinner was 56 Euro for two.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Do Natello Best food in Bologna's center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Ar you looking for good food?Justified prices?Best service?
Then,Donatello is your place.Ask for Louka,and dine in the upper part of the restaurant.Food is perfect,service is excellent,and atmosphere makes you fell like home.Enjoy it(we've been tasting their food for over 20 years,and still comes to our taste as one of the best restos)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RESTAURANT DONATELLO also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to RESTAURANT DONATELLO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RESTAURANT DONATELLO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.