We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent centrally-located place to stay in Bologna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Met's Apartment

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bologna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Met's Apartment
Save
You added Met's Apartment to your Saves list
Via De' Monari 3, 40121 Bologna, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent centrally-located place to stay in Bologna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had originally booked a quad for the family in the Metropolitan Hotel, but were upgraded on arrival into one of the apartments in the nearby annex. Both sites are very well-located, modern, and well-designed. If you are driving, they have an arrangement with a car park nearby as there are severe traffic restrictions in central Bologna. The breakfast was fine and the wi-fi was free. What more could one want for a couple of days exploring Bologna?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
8
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We booked a room in the hotel for a stay of 2 nights as a family of 4. On checking in we were informed that in order for us to be more comfortable, they had changed our booking to the apartments. Initially we were a little cautious not knowing what to expect.

The apartments are located only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in was very spacious, having comfortable beds and we loved the ultra modern décor (may not be to everybody’s taste). It was without doubt the cleanest hotel/apartment we have ever stayed in with every detail of the room perfectly presented.

We appreciated the fact that most of the windows in the apartment were of the modern double hinged design that not only allows them to be opened in the traditional way but also hinged from the bottom allowing some fresh air to pass through he window but in such a way that it is secured to prevent intruders entering the room via the windows.

Even though the apartments are centrally located, we found the apartment to be very quite and were not affected by noise from either outside the apartment or from guests in adjoining rooms.

The layout of the room is a little quirky in that the main bedroom has 2 twin beds and a TV whereas the main bed is located in the main section of the apartment separated from the lounge dining area by a movable curtain. Further the TV in the main living area is only really viewable from the raised dinning table (bar style). The lounge suite is quite small and perhaps owes its design more to looking very stylish rather than providing outstanding comfort. The fact that we spent most of our time out and about exploring Bologna meant none of the above really bothered us greatly

Each morning we went to the hotel in order to have breakfast. The offering is a little limited in terms of choice but earns full marks for presentation. Similarly, the dinning room used to serve breakfast is a very pleasant environment.

We could not have asked for better service from the staff on the front desk (in the hotel). Apart from providing a larger more spacious room they also provided suggestions for local restaurants, agreed to open the breakfast a little earlier than normal as we had an early start on a local tour and provided some suggestions on local events that may be of interest to us

We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stylish, so clean that I wondered whether anyone had stayed here before us, centrally located - staff v. polite & helpful - would strongly recommend
Only problem and not one for us in May was lack of controller for the airdcon system - this would be a significant issue in august - I am sure they will fix it

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband & I stayed in one apt while my parents & sister stayed in another apt at the Mets in December 2011. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the apartment and found it to be clean, comfortable and a great location right in the downtown area of Bologna. The apartment was spacious and exceptionally quiet on a side street from Via Independenza.

While the kitchen was small (i.e. minimalist...dont count on cooking a big meal here!) it was still fine to make some eggs in the morning. There was no toaster which was disappointing although not necessary and there was also no phone to contact reception at the hotel some 150 mtrs away.

The rain shower was fantastic, as was the consistent water pressure and temperature (i.e. hot!!). The one downside in the bathroom was the hairdryer which didn't have great power and you also had to hold the button consistently for it to continue to work.

All in all we found this apartment to be brilliant and the staff at the front desk of the Metropolitan hotel were very friendly and helpful in contacting Ferrari & Lamborghini for us in Modena.

  • Liked — The quiet surrounds & comfy king size bed!
  • Disliked — No toaster or bread knife & no cable on 2nd tv in the apt
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Elegant, fashionable, striking, clean, modern, sophisticated and comfortable. There are plenty of words to describe this fantastic place. Close to great shopping, great dining, the university...... Yes it is a very great place.

The modern decor of the hotel are exceptionally clean and yet it was our most comfortable room in Europe. The one bedroom apartment has a small kitchen that comes complete with an espresso pot, enough cookware, utensils and dishes to prepare a complete meal. And because you are in Balogna, there are small grocery stores, butcher shops, enoteccas all in your neighborhood. Plenty of local foods to bring back to enjoy.

The shower is out of this world. We just loved the blue light bathroom. Great flatscreen TV with a wide selection of English language channels.

You check in at the Metropolitan Hotel. The desk clerk gave us great recommendations for restaurants near our apartment (probably not really hard to do in Balogna). We hated to leave.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takapuna, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We (a couple and a single) stayed in Met's studio apartments for 2 nights. The location is good, less than 10 mins walk to the shopping district and Fontana dei Nettuno. Check in is at Metropolitan Hotel, then we were walked to and let in to the apartments about 5 mins away. They apartments are very modern, well sized and fitted out for a studio. I understand that there are also 1 and 2 bedroom units available. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms spacious. The staff were pleasant and helpful. If you are arriving by car, don't try to drive to the hotel. Leave your car in the nearby carpark recommended by the hotel and walk the 5 mins to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Two of us stayed for 3 weeks late May to mid June. At 70 euros/day (35 pax) an absolutely terrific value for the location and quality of the apartment. The service was also simply fantastic - 24/7, friendly and English speaking (!). A day after having finished our stay, we were in Rome and discovering we hadn't checked one of the drawers while packing up in Bologna. A third of our clothes were still there. A quick phone call back to the Met Hotel and they not only retrieved them but (at our instruction) had them waiting for us when we were scheduled to come back briefly a week later (neatly folded as well).
Couldn't have asked for it being more helpful and the place is a no brainer the next time we are visiting Bologna.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Met's Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Met's Apartment

Address: Via De' Monari 3, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Apartments and Studios in the center of Bologna, only 150 meters from Piazza Maggiore and 100 meters from the Hotel Metropolitan, high quality, a perfect opportunity for longterm well as for shorter periods, for business travelers and especially for our female guests. Privacy Philosophy and Lifestyle "Home away from Home"Met's Apartment does all this, refined studio & apartments, spaces and optimal conditions for your stay, make meetings, focus groups, work, relax and live in a central location in the city of Bologna.All the Apartments are equipped with the latest technological equipment: comfort, security and relax.Maximum attention has been paid to the interior design and interior aspect of personal safety with circuit surveillance in public areas.ALL THE MET'S APARTMENTS ARE EQUIPPED WITH:Air conditioned, Rooms with King Size beds, TV color LCD HD with international channels, Broadband Internet Connection and Wi-Fi, safe and doors with electronic opening Bathroom with oversized shower and hairdryer Fully equipped Kitchenette (with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher)COMMON SPACES Meeting Room Elevator ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Met's Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.