We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Residenza d'Azeglio

Save Saved
You added Antica Residenza d'Azeglio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antica Residenza d'Azeglio
Via Massimo d'Azeglio 64, 40124 Bologna, Italy (Saragozza)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 199 Bologna B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

As so many reviews indicate, Agostino and Roberto really make the difference here.
Yes, their B&B is in a great location, nice area and very handy to the centro.
Yes, the decor, although a little tired in spots, is charming; the bedrooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are big enough and clean.
Yes, the breakfast is very good - I really miss Roberto's cappuccino [sorry, Agostino!] and the potato bread [just twice a week] was delicious.
But it was the two men's warmth, friendliness and willingness to go out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable that really stay with you. Our family of three spent 6 nights here and we felt truly welcomed and at home. We were indeed sorry to say goodbye.
N.B. Agostino's and Roberto's recommendations for restaurants are truly worthwhile, the best one being Osteria La Traviata, nearby in via Urbana.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
273
23
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and it was just perfect. The room was beautifully decorated, the host couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. A magical experience and we only wished we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Me and my husband have stayed in this hotel for about a month, while looking for a house to move to Bologna. I can definitely say that you will never find anyplace else such a hospitable, professional but at the same time friendly management! This is a hotel with genuine Italian experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Charming in design, service and hospitality. Roberto and Agostino are the perfect hosts -- warm, funny, generous and adept at crossing cultural bridges -- and their B&B is wonderfully appointed, combining historic style with modern creature comforts. Their guidance to the restaurants and sights of Bologna made for an ideal romantic weekend getaway from big-city bustle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ago A, Proprietario at Antica Residenza d'Azeglio, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest , Dear Mr. Dan
Thank you so much for your nice review touching and unexpected
this is the first time that we respond in a way visible to everyone
Personally we have always responded privately to all our Dear Guests
We sincerely touched by the reviews and all the comments and want to thank all our Kind Guests from all over the world:
New Zealand Australia Japan China Singapore Hong Kong South Africa Europe Estonia Latvia Lithuania Russia Canada United States of America Mexico Costa Rica Venezuela Brasil Argentina ...
Thank you very much for choosing Antica Residenza d'Azeglio and we are pleased to welcame you in to our beautiful city.
We wish to welcome you again in the near future and as has happened with many of our Guests.
Our best regards from Italy and Bologna.
Agostino & Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Incredible service here. Roberto and Agostino treated us like royalty from the moment we arrived. They were friendly and engaging, but not at all to a point where you felt bothered. So helpful in many ways, funny, knowledgeable. They wanted to get to know their guests which made for a personal and warm experience. The decor is a little dated but charming nonetheless. Though I've only been in Italy for a few months, it's at the top of the list as far as the complete experience is concerned. Well done Roberto and Agosto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place is just fantastic. The right location, a beautiful room and a service from Roberto, a true italian gentleman, like we never experienced before. So friendly and so helpfull. Altough we just stayed for 1 night this is a place we will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just returned from an absolutely spectacular 3 nights in Bologna staying at this fantastic bed and breakfast- We were in Bologna for Christmas, arriving on Christmas eve- early morning- Roberto was absolutely amazing- his welcome was beyond all expectations- tea and coffee, croissants and pastries were waiting for us in the lounge area and while we enjoyed a very welcome drink after a very early departure from the UK, Roberto proceeded to describe and rate all the local restaurants- narrowing one down that he thought was suitable for that evening and making a call to make a reservation and another for lunch on Christmas day- we hadn't even been in his company for an hour by then!!! totally amazing.
The bed and breakfast is beautiful- it's decorated with antique furniture but has all the modern conveniences you could want- a very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom/ensuite.
Everything is within walking distance from the property- there is no need for a taxi - unless you want to venture outside of the city- which as we were there for only four days we didn't- there is more than enough in Bologna to keep you entertained - especially during the Christmas period.
The restaurants Roberto recomended were excellent - real bologaniase food - not tourist italian restaurants- we had the best pasta dishes ever there- good job we were there for a relatively short time or we would have returned a lot heavier!!!
This is a really wonderful place to stay- it's location, and decor make it first rate but the extraordinary service offered by Roberto- his amazing ability to always be there when you return- ready with tea and pastries and advice on restaurants/walks...made a first place destination a dream destination- perfection, we hope to return soon

Room Tip: take the advice of Roberto and Augusto- they really do know what they are talking about- you can tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antica Residenza d'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Residenza d'Azeglio

Address: Via Massimo d'Azeglio 64, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Saragozza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed and breakfast relais in downtown 5 minutes walking distance to Piazza Maggiore and shopping area all rooms decorated each one different color private bathroom same color of the bedroom Turquoise room quiet and with balcony Rich breakfast till late 12,00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Antica Residenza d'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Residenza d`Azeglio Hotel Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Residenza d'Azeglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.