We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far away, but worth it both for the food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Satyricon

Osteria Satyricon
Via delle Armi, 3, 40137 Bologna, Italy (Savena)
051444320
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,300 Restaurants in Bologna
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Savena
Zagreb
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Far away, but worth it both for the food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay there. It was quite far from our hotel, even from the city center, sheepishly we thought we'd walk, but ended up calling a taxi, hovewer, as soon as we arrived, we felt very, very welcome and we got very nice, personalised attention. At first, the restaurant was rather empty, but it filled up pretty soon and I can see why. We loved the ambiance, but even more so the food, especially home made pasta which was out of this world. I don't know which we enjoyed more: tortelloni with squash served with spinach or fantastic green pasta triangles with porcini and cheese filling, topped with celery puree. The wine we were suggested was great too, but the desserts, which sounded ordinary, were simply divine. My hubbie loved his: cornetto- thin crispy tuille filled with ricotta and white chocolate but I thought my crunchy mille-foglie with coffee mousse topping was fantastic. A real gem, thank for the suggestion Trip Advisor, this is why i love you!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    180
    29
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A real treat - worth the effort to get to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The osteria is easily reachable by bus - we took the number 13 bus and got off at the stop Chiesa Nuova. It's a 2 minute walk from there and easy to see from the main road. They offered to call a cab and be aware that after 2200 the bus service is thin. I think you need to book - it was quiet when we arrived mid-week but completely packed when we left.

The service, atmosphere and quality of food was exceptional. It was one of our best meals during our trip and I was glad I booked it and made the effort to get out of the city center to eat. There are good places to eat in there of course; but I think special restaurants like this tend to be outside. The prices were good and staff made a good effort to help with translation (my Italian isn't bad but local dishes are always difficult to decipher!).

Any how, if you're stopping in Bologna I strongly recommend an evening here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“yum yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Best meal I had in Italy!.. First of all, this little family owned restaurant, Osteria Satyricon, is a delight to sit in. The décor is so perfectly orchestrated, tables made out of corks, old bottles of wine made as candle holders, and cool posters hanging everywhere –and the bathroom is almost nicer than the entire place! We sat down and the owner immediately came to our table and literally explained (translated) the entire menu and all the specials. The cold cuts are made by his father, the pasta and pastries and jams are made by his mother, and every single thing we ate was delicious. In the end, he graciously offered us a grappa and absolutely refused for us to leave any tip.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpi, Italy
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We went with some friends from Germany, one of us took us there as she knows the owner Fabrizio and his wife. Fabrizio was really nice making an effort to rxplain in English the specials which sounded more complicated than they were. We had coldcuts platter, sausage tartare (very good), risotto with shrimps (very delicate taste), beef fillet ( very well presented on a hanging kewer but too cooked for my 'medium/rare'), filled homemade pasta, and then lemon sorbet with vodka, strawberry slush and pistachio mousse. Overall a good experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Been to the best in Bologna... This is the best restaurant: period!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Been to Bologna with my wife three times in the past 12 months. There are many great restaurants in Bologna. We enjoyed so many. But, let me be clear on this review: THE BEST FOOD IN THE CITY OF BOLOGNA, ITALY! The quality and taste of the food is second to none. So may homemade dished that are past down from the parents of the owners. The food is unique and not your traditional Italian restaurant menu items. From the sausage made by the owners father to the cheesecake recipe of the owner's mother... you are in a special place!!!

The owner is not fluent in English, but he goes out of his way to communicate clearly with you. The staff is friendly and warm. The dinner was amazing, the atmosphere was romantic, and the experince was priceless.

Highly recommend you get to Osteria Satyricon as soon as you can.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Satyricon also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Osteria Satyricon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Satyricon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.