We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than bed and breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Casa Zucchini Bed&breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bologna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antica Casa Zucchini Bed&breakfast
Save
You added Antica Casa Zucchini Bed&breakfast to your Saves list
Via Santo Stefano 36, 40125 Bologna, Italy (Santo Stefano)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 237 Bologna B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Much more than bed and breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I am most of the times intimidated by the concept of bed and breakfasts.... llara's lovely family residence aka Antica Casa Zucchini turned out to be one of my most favorite getaway spots and favorite exception.... High ceilings+frescoes...what else could cheer me up? nothing much really. Llara's lovely presence in the mornings serving us breakfast and what I could claim the best coffee in Bologna were added joys... We stayed in Cesare Room with a queen bed and a sofa bed which I can easily recommend to a family with a chid. Spacious room yet doesn't get direct sunlight. I found myself coming back to the main courtyard and enjoying the afternoon sun sitting at the little bench in front of our casa....

Room Tip: Cesare room did not get too much direct sunlight, maybe it was the time of the year (March 2011). th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were so impressed with our 4 day visit last year, that we booked for two weeks this year, so that we could attend a language school (ARCA) located around the corner. Ilaria is a wonderful host and on both occasions has made us feel very welcome. The B&B is beautiful! All three rooms are generous in size - each more like a suite than a room - and the large library room and dining area allow for additional space for relaxing and reading. The fresco ceilings are amazing, both in height and decoration. The B&B is centrally located in Bologna, within easy walking distance to the centre of the city, and major attractions. Coming home each day, entering through the huge arched doorway under the portico, and walking around the courtyard of this 15-16th century building to the entrance of the B&B is a true Italian experience. The warmth and hospitality shown by Ilaria and her family makes you feel special, and being greeted each morning with a breakfast including homemade delights is a great start to the day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Antica Casa Zucchini. The location is great,

It was more like staying in an apartment in a 12th century palazzo. We had rented two rooms -- Cornelia and Guido, which had the sitting room in between them. My husband and I stayed in Cornelia, and it was lovely -- extremely spacious, great bathroom, and an extra room with a day bed which nicely held our luggage.
Our 18 and 21 year old kids stay in Guido. It really isn't as nice as Cornelia, and had my husband and I been placed there on our own, I would have been disappointed. The kids were fine, but my daughter could not shower in their room because it was so tiny. She is claustrophobic, but I'm not, and I also would have found the shower daunting.

Ilaria was always wonderful with email communication ahead of our trip, making restaurant reservations for us, etc. Again, it was more like an apartment than a hotel, as she was not always around to ask questions. This was fine with us, as we didn't have many, and never really needed her. She did give us her phone # to call, if we ever needed anything.

I feel the rooms were a great value for the price. Breakfast was included, although pretty mediocre.

Room Tip: Cornelia was lovely. Avoid Guido if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is an elegant b&b in a grand historic building in Bologne just minutes from the University. Our room was enormous, with soaring ceilings and a comfortable four-poster bed. Ilaria Zucchini was a gracious host who made us feel right at home and recommended a wonderful spot for dinner. Her mother makes the delicious preserves to go with breakfast croissants. Delicious!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Everything about this place is perfect. An amazing oasis of calm and comfort in a wonderful historic building in one of Italy's finest cities, in one of the nicest quarters. Ilaria is a charming and helpful hostess.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

If you would like to know what is behind those red buildings in Bologna, try staying in Antica Casa Zucchini. This beautiful B&B also serves great breakfast with some delicious home-made items such as jams bread and pies. If you ONLY have 1 day to spend in Bologna, try staying in Antica Casa Zucchini because it is within walking distance to the major tourist spots like Piazza Maggiore, Fontana di Nettuno, Towers of Bologna.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

If ever in Bologna you must try to get a reservation.Built in 1390 this three room bed &Breakfast is what every travler to Italy hopes for;a gracious and friendly hostess who welcomes you to her home and does everything possible to make your stay memorable.The rooms are HUGE with vaulted fresco ceilings and lovely bedding.We just returned from three weeks in Italy with multiple stops.Casa Zucchini beat the four star hotels in my mind.Check out Illaria Zucchinis' web site..The location is two blocks from Piazza St.Stefano and an easy walk to the to the sights.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Casa Zucchini Bed&breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Casa Zucchini Bed&breakfast

Address: Via Santo Stefano 36, 40125 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Casa Zucchini Bed&breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.