We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophistication and intimacy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Osteria Romagnola

Antica Osteria Romagnola
Via Rialto 13 | Bologna, 40126 Bologna, Italy (Santo Stefano)
+39 051 263699
Improve this listing
Ranked #422 of 1,300 Restaurants in Bologna
Price range: $25 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santo Stefano
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sophistication and intimacy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is just a heavenly place to eat. Okay, so there is no menu, the charming owner reels off the amazing array of dishes of the day. All of which you immediately want to eat. And having made the lost impossible choice you are served with an anti pasta that is presented beautifully . Some sweet onions, ricotta, mortadella and many other tasty morsels.
The food is of an exceptional standard. The setting' old school' and very intimate.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    55
    35
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent local food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant on recommendation from the hotel we were staying in that was close by. We were the first to arrive and it felt like a private dining experience as we were looked after so well. This is the kind of Bologna restaurant where you are not given a menu or any indication of price, you just go with it and listen to the options that the waiter describes to you. We had a wonderful selection of antipasti including divine ricotta, mortadella, deep fried spaghetti etc. For our main we shared the porchetta which was absolutely incredible. Then we somehow managed to stuff down dessert of chocolate mousse. All accompanied by a lovely Sangiovese. Coffees and sambucas finished us off and we staggered home totally full and extremely happy. Definitely one to go to.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Typical Bologna appeal & approach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Selection of seasonal produce done in a typical style is demanded by the very local clientele.
Service was attentive and at time a little intrusive; but hey, it's Italy and sometimes you are privileged to be served...Very good but expensive compared to others that are close by and unfortunately...better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The food is fantastic and really plentyfull!!! we had a gourmet meal with a big appetizer made of mozzarella di buffala, mortadella, olives, tomatoes, cheese, various homemade breads etc......(it would have been enough as a meal if we had eaten it all but paced ourselves!!!!). The actual starter and main courses were original and really amazing. It has to be said that there is no menu, and no price when you come, the waiter (probably the owner) who speaks English, tells you verbally the menu and you choose "blindly", hoping for the best...and believe me the best did come for us...my expended waistline is my witness...we shared a desert (I don't know where we found the space left in our stomac) and a coffee with digestive for my partner and when the bill came, we simply could not believe our eyes, given the quality of the food we just had. Euro 115, this included a bottle of decent dry Lambrusco that cost only euro 15. All in all, it must be one of the cheapest meal I have ever eaten for that level of quality. yummy!!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic local osteria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The chances of finding this without a recommendation are almost zero - but it is well worth seeking out. We loved the local feel, the verbal menu, the smooth Sangiovese and the outstanding quality of the food. Our main courses were turbot braised with vegetables and beautifully soft beef in red wine sauce. We were lucky to be recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Osteria Romagnola also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Antica Osteria Romagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Osteria Romagnola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.