We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for insider” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Osteria Romagnola

Antica Osteria Romagnola
Via Rialto 13 | Bologna, 40126 Bologna, Italy (Santo Stefano)
+39 051 263699
Improve this listing
Ranked #410 of 1,306 Restaurants in Bologna
Price range: $24 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santo Stefano
Bologna, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A place for insider”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Unless you live in the neighbourhood, this place has to be recommended, otherwise you won´t find it. And you would never expect to find behind this modest door in this side street one of the best restaurants in town. It´s traditional bolognese food, but not just the usual tortellini and ragou, it´s more developing something similar with the same indegrients. Immagine you grew up with tortellini and ragu and you still love it, but during the years you have refined your palate and every now than you prefer a change, but still want to eat local - that´s when you come here!
There is no written menu and so you don´t know the price when you order, at the first time it makes most people nervous, but it´s not overpriced. The menu is changing through the season, wonderful creations with the best possible indegrients. With the water you get an outstanding plate with salsas, olives and mozzarella, the setting has charme and taste. Even for tourists it´s an interesting supplement to the typical Bologna Pasta Restaurant!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    55
    35
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Prepared Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a beautiful restaurant with amazing food. The freshest mozzarella EVER and some of the best pasta I had in a week (which is saying a lot because I had ALOT of pasta). Would definitely visit again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Personal Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We ate at this restaurant on the advice of our hotel staff. The food was excellent and service impeccable. The staff did not object to my wife and I sharing the various courses and assisted us in making our selections. While the pricing is on the "upper" end of the price scale, the meal was good value for the experience. We would go again if we returned to Bologna.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Went to this restaurant based on a recommendation from our hotel. BIG MISTAKE!!! Firstly, it is difficult to locate, secondly, they are EXTREMELY rude to those that are not fluent in Italian, thirdly the service is cold, primitive, and lacking of class. We went their at 8:30 PM FOR OUR RESERVED TIME. It took us 20 minutes to find the location. The waitress gave us rude looks and would not speak to us. She refused to give us a menu or provide us with any professional servicer. The owner put us in a corner, with no menus or a professional or warm reception. We asked for sparkling water. After 10 minutes of sitting in silence, it was apparent that this location was not for the 'non-locals'. We asked to pay for the water so we could leave. The owner refused to take our money, grabbed us by the arm and 'escorted us out of the restaurant'... I was in shock. I should have responded to this abuse, but could not believe what took place. As we left, the owner cursed us in Italian (yes, my wife speaks Italian)

I can not describe the scene in this restaurant properly. I have been to many great restaurants in Bologna, and throughout the world. This is the worst I have ever experienced. Beware!!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, dreadful service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We spent a nice Sat. evening with 10 friends from all around Europe and the US to celebrate a class reunion. The food was extremely good and abundant. Ditto for the wine. Service was extremely poor. The waitress was aggressive, unpleasant and unhelpful. Every time we asked something, she looked at us with anger and acted accordingly. On several occasions, she almost dropped hot food on us. I shall not mention when we asked for some ice....It is a real pity: the place deserves a better service!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Osteria Romagnola also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Antica Osteria Romagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Osteria Romagnola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.