We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matusel

Matusel
Via Bertoloni 2, 40126 Bologna, Italy (San Vitale)
+39051231718
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,305 Restaurants in Bologna
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pasta, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Vitale
Monnetier-Mornex, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great atmosphere, immense range of dishes (what is written on the board is barely a tenth of the full menu) - you could probably eat there every day and still try something new. We went on my daughter's recommendation, well deserved. Despite the fact the restaurant was full, there was no sense of being rushed to finish our meal. Will certainly be back, more than once!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    208
    50
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not convinced!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We went to this restaurant for a romantic dinner whilst staying in Bologna.

We started by arriving and the restaurant was empty. We were surprised by this as it seems like such a favorite on Tripadvisor.

We ordered the house red which in all honesty tasted like fizzy vinegar. It was also really cold to disguise the flavour.

The started was the mixed marinated fish which was swimming in oil and extremely fishy. It was accompanied by tasteless bread.

For main course, I had the squid which was so rubbery in texture that I couldn't physically eat it. It was stuffed with some sort of breadcrumb mix which was tasteless. My girlfriend enjoyed her swordfish which was served with a tomato/olive/caper sauce.

We are not normally fussy but in this circumstance, the food was genuinely sub-standard. It doesn't surprise me that the restaurant was very quiet and I wonder whether locals have caught on that the restaurant may have passed its prime.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worth a try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were in Bologna and had no idea where to go for something to eat, saw Matusel and decided to give it a try.. The food was great, the fish was absolutely delicious, lovely wine, friendly staff and really nice atmosphere. Had a really nice evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Delicious food, proper Italian meal, warm atmosphere, very friendly, smiling and kind staff who made us feel comfortable and pampered. I highly recommend it and I definitely will be back!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were 2 couples and we tried this restaurant in a classic Italian backstreet, in the historical center of lovely Bologna; well it has been a perfect meal, with perfect wine and the atmosphere you would expect in an Italian restaurant.
After a really nice antipasti, I eat the swordfish a la parmesana... I'm still dreaming about it!!!
Again perfect

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matusel also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Matusel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matusel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.