We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but heavy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sorbetteria Castiglione

La Sorbetteria Castiglione
Via Castiglione, 44, Bologna, Italy (Santo Stefano)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,206 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Santo Stefano
Bologna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but heavy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great gelato, deserving of its reputation, but very heavy, very sweet. Not necessarily my favorite, but a solid choice.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    249
    61
    31
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“perfect ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very clean store and helpful staff. Ice cream is perfect. You do not know what flavor to choose. Very near the center.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Definitely very good Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is very good Gelato and definitely in my top pick of Gelato bars in Italy that I have tried. What can I say, go and try it, it is definitely worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Best Ice Cream on Planet Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We all know, that the best ice cream in the world can only be found in Italy. As Bologna is the "Mecca" for fine food in Italy, it is not surprising, that the best ice cream in the country ( or world for that matter ) is also to be found in this wonderful city.

It has a mainly local clientele, always ( a good sign) but some lucky tourist, who have done their homework are also fortunate to have discovered it and to try the many wonderful flavours on offer.

On every visit, it is difficult to know which flavours one should order, as the choice is so varied and so very, very tempting. The colours, textures and flavours are all wonderful, each one a gem in its own right.

The staff are welcoming and helpful and the prices are very reasonable.

On every visit to Bologna, this establishment is one of my very first visits and while writing about it, I have decided to book a ticket for yet another visit. I hope to meet you there with a huge ice cream in your hand. Do not miss this experience!!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Best ice I ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Everything here is very authentic. You get all walks of life coming in here queing for their favourate ice creams and most of them are Italians. There are loads to choose from. Very clean place with a seating area whilst you wait. A very Italian experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sorbetteria Castiglione also viewed

 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to La Sorbetteria Castiglione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sorbetteria Castiglione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.