We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably good - do not miss it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sorbetteria Castiglione

La Sorbetteria Castiglione
Via Castiglione, 44, Bologna, Italy (Santo Stefano)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,206 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Santo Stefano
South West UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good - do not miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have travelled throughout Italy and eaten a lot of gelato. La Sorbetteria Castiglione is the best I have ever tasted. The bacio (chocolate & hazelnut) is to die for and I don't even like nuts! They have to have the benches outside in case you faint from pleasure. Go there: your tastebuds will thank you.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    249
    61
    31
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It's almost a reason to visit Bologna in itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

It's a 2 mile walk from where I usually stay when visiting Bologna and I sometimes make it twice a day. Nuff said?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We did wander by this well known gelateria and it was worth the walk. So many choices, and when we finally selected, we were not disappointed. Pity the staff member was a bit "off" the day we were there. Maybe she had a headache! Never mind, the gelati was great.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hot chocolate with cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Really good, maybe a bit too much for a single person, probably with fresh and good ingredients. A bit expensive

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huaraz
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Heavenly Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This ice cream shop serves the best ice cream we tasted in Italy, and trust me we tried loads! The flavours are original and completely divine! A real must!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sorbetteria Castiglione also viewed

 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to La Sorbetteria Castiglione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sorbetteria Castiglione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.